Skip to main content

NYU Classes: Adding Library Resources: Linking to ARTICLES

Creating a reading list of NYU Libraries sources

Here's how to put links to articles on your class reading list:

  • If you have a specific article citation, do this.
  • If you're choosing articles as you browse a database, do this.

If you have a specific article citation, try one of these methods.

METHOD 1:  BobCat's Journals Tab

If you're choosing articles while browsing a database:

When the  NYU button IS featured within the database, use this method.

 

When the NYU button IS NOT featured within the database, use this method involving the ezproxy prefix.

http://proxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=

 

The "EZProxy Prefix"

When you get a permanent link in a "no NYU button" scenario like the one above, there's a second step. You need to copy this ezproxy prefix

          http://proxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=

and paste it in front of the permanent link, leaving no space in between, like this

          http://proxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/25743972

to ensure that students can access the link off-campus.

The JSTOR example in the above slideshow conveys the general concept of obtaining a permanent link.  But the specific procedure can vary somewhat from database to database.  Here are some examples:

Access World News

  1. Find article
  2. Display article in HTML
  3. Click "Export" (in blue bar above article)
  4. Click "Export Article Links"
  5. Copy OpenURL link
  6. Add ezproxy prefix  http://proxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/25743972   to above link.

Journals@Ovid and Ovid databases

Note: Some articles will have an NYU Button, in which case click the button then copy the link in the upper left corner.  But if there's a PDF icon instead of an NYU Button, do this:

  1. Click article title.
  2. Click "Email PDF Jumpstart" (right of page)
  3. Copy Jumpstart URL
  4. Add ezproxy prefix  http://proxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/25743972   to above link.

JSTOR

  1. Click article title
  2. Copy Stable URL (toward top of page)
  3. Add ezproxy prefix  http://proxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=  to above link

Lexis-Nexis Academic Link Builder

  1. Click article title
  2. Click "Create Permanent Link" (top middle of page)
  3. Copy the permanent link
  4. Add ezproxy prefix  http://proxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=  to above link

PEP Web (Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing)

  1. Search for article and display the full text.
  2. (PC) Right-click on title of article; choose "copy shortcut"
  3. (MAC) Hold down CONTROL key, click on title of article; choose "copy link"
  4. Paste URL into course page.

Project Muse

  1. Find article.
  2. Click on PDF or HTML version
  3. Copy the URL in your browser's address bar and paste into NYU Classes.

Proquest
Proquest consists of a number of full-text databases.

  1. Search for article
  2. Click on the article title.
  3. At the top of the page, click on Copy Link.
  4. Copy the link that displays in the popup window. Paste into NYU Classes.
  5.  http://proxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=

PsycARTICLES (APA PsycNET)

  1. Find article
  2. Display article in PDF
  3. Copy the URL in your browser's address bar and paste into NYU Classes and add the ezproxy prefix http://proxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=

Sage Journals Online

  1. Search Sage Journals Online
  2. Click on the article title that you want to link to.
  3. Click on the Email Record to a Friend link on right sidebar
  4. Right-click (or control-click for MAC) on the linked article title at the top of the page and copy this link.
  5. Paste this link into NYU Classes and add the ezproxy prefix  http://proxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=

Science Direct

  1. Find article; select article by clicking checkbox
  2. Click on "email articles"; choose "Plain Text ASCII"
  3. You will receive an email from Science Direct with a URL to the article.
  4. Copy and paste this link into NYU Classes.  Prepend the ezproxy prefix  http://proxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=

OmniFile Full Text Mega (Wilson via EBSCO)

WilsonWeb databases include: Wilson Omni Full Text, General Science Full Text, Legal Periodicals Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text ,Education Full Text,  Art Full Text, Reader's Guide Full Text, Library Literature Full Text, Index to Legal Periodicals, Essay and General Literature Index, ERIC, and Business Full Text

  1. Search for your article.
  2. Click into the article title. 
  3. At the bottom of the brief record, you'll see a Persistent URL area.
  4. Click to either copy the HTML or PDF url
  5. Copy the URL that appears in the popup window, paste it into NYU Classes, and add the ezproxy prefix and add the prefix  http://proxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=

Linking vs. Posting PDFs

Articles and other materials from library databases are subject to license agreements that specify how database contents may be used. Generally, all database materials can be made available through NYU Classes by linking to the appropriate database. Linking is just as easy as attaching a PDF, but it is a better option for providing access to licensed material while staying within copyright and license terms. For more information, see Copyright: Online Course Sites.

Options:

Do-It-Yourself:  Use the instructions on this page to create your own links to articles.

Linking ServiceUse this form to request that NYU Libraries create links to articles for you.

Use a Permanent Link

To link to an article, don't grab the browser link. It won't work off campus and is likely to break.

Instead, use a permanent link (aka permalink, persistent link, stable link). In some cases you'll need to add the ezproxy URL to the link.  This page shows you how.