Skip to main content

NYU Classes: Adding Library Resources: Linking to eBOOKS

Creating a reading list of NYU Libraries sources

 Linking vs. Posting PDFs

Articles and other materials from library databases are subject to license agreements that specify how database contents may be used. Generally, all database materials can be made available through NYU Classes by linking to the appropriate database. Linking is just as easy as attaching a PDF, but it is a better option for providing access to licensed material while staying within copyright and license terms. For more information, see Copyright: Online Course Sites.

  • Do-It-Yourself:  Use the instructions on this page to create your own links to articles.
  • Linking Service:  Use this form to request that NYU Libraries create links to articles for you.
 

To link to an article, don't grab the browser link. It won't work off campus and is likely to break.  Instead, use a permanent link (aka permalink, persistent link, stable link). In some cases you'll need to add the ezproxy URL to the link.  This page shows you how.

There are 5 search tools for finding ebooks.  If you don't find your book in one tool, try another:

Search Tool Special Feature Limit on synchronous users? Limit on downloading & printing?
Books & More Tab Find all subscription instances and choose platform Varies per title Varies per title
Summon Search ebooks full text (not just metadata) Varies per title Varies per title
Ebook Central Read, highlight, and annotate within the platform Varies per title Varies per title
HathiTrust Access digitized public domain books; search full text No No
Individual publisher sites Search ebooks full text (not just metadata) Not usually Not usually

Using BobCat to link to an ebook

BobCat searches the metadata (not full text) of of our ebook collections.

Using Summon to link to an ebook

Summon searches the full text of our ebook collections.

  • Search tip:  Use Advanced Search "Author" and "Title" fields to pinpoint the primary text (and avoid a flood of related secondary sources). 
  • Reading list tip:  Get the permanent link to the article, then add the exproxy prefix: http://proxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=

Using Ebook Central to link to an ebook

Search tip:  Use Advanced Search "Author" and "Title" fields to pinpoint the primary text (and avoid a flood of related secondary sources). 

  • Reading list tip:  Get the permanent link, then add the exproxy prefix: http://proxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=

Using HathiTrust to link to an ebook

HathiTrust -- full text, downloadable access to 5.3 million public domain books.

  • Search tip:  Use Advanced Search "Author" and "Title" fields to pinpoint the primary text (and avoid related a flood of (and avoid related secondary sources). 
  • Reading list tip:  Get the permanent link, then add the exproxy prefix http://proxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=

Using individual publishers to link to an ebook

To browse individual publisher platforms such as Brill, Cambridge, Oxford, Routledge, Sage, Springer, Wiley and more, use this Databases A-Z page and limit "Database Type" to "Ebook Collections."  You can also limit by publisher.

Note:  Textbooks are not abundant in NYU Libraries' collections, but some of our ebook subscriptions include textbook publishers, for example Brill, Cambridge, Ebook Central, Knovel, Oxford, Palgrave, Routledge, Springer, and Wiley.

 

Examples of ebooks available via NYU Libraries licenses: