Skip to main content

Mendeley: Bibliographies & Citations

Learn how to use the bibliographic management tool Mendeley to organize citations, format bibliographies & citations, and more.

Setting Citation Style

To set your default citation style in Mendeley just go to ViewCitation Style, and click on the style you need. You can always change this if you need to. You can also select a different style when adding citations to individual documents in Word (see below).

Using Mendeley for your Manuscript

To add in-text citations and bibliographies to your work use the toolbar in Word. Make sure to download the Word toolbar when setting up your Mendeley account.

 

 



For some Macs you will find the Mendeley Toolbar option under the Applescript menu (next to the Help option):

 


Note: After you have added your citations you will still want to review them just to make sure everything is properly in place (no italics out of place, unnecessary commas, etc.).

In-Text Citations

To add in-text citations go to the References toolbar in Word. There you should see the Mendeley Cite-o-matic panel. (If you don't see the Mendeley panel install the Word plugin:
 

1. Click in the document where you want the citation to go, then select Insert Citation.

 

On some Macs inserting will look like this:

Note: Make sure the style you want to use is selected. Here I have APA listed. You can always select another option.

2. A search window will pop up. Start typing information (title, author, etc.) from the citation you wish to use, or select Go To Mendeley to browse your references.


 

3. Once you have found the citation you need, click OK to add it to your manuscript.

Inserting Bibliography

Once you have added all your in-text citations, click on Insert Bibliography in the toolbar to create your works cited list.

On some Macs creating a bibliography will look like this


Once you have done this you will have a manuscript complete with in-text citations and a bibliography.

Creating Standalone Bibliography

If you want to create a bibliography, without having a document that has in-text citations, you can do so directly from Mendeley Desktop.

Select all the records you wish to add to your list, from your Mendeley Library, and then go to Edit and click on Copy. Once you have done this you can go to a text document, like Word, and simply click Paste. This will create a bibliography in your chosen citation style.