Skip to main content

Legal Challenges to ObamaCare : Alternative Sources for U.S. Government Information

Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) resources and legal challenges from different perspectives.

Introduction

The United States Government shut down starting on October 1, 2013, affecting access to many of its agencies' websites and the information and materials disseminated by those sites. Updates regarding government operating status and resumption of normal operations can be found at http://www.usa.gov.

This guide will help you find alternative access to U.S. government materials (where possible) using NYU-licensed databases and freely available websites.

If you are having trouble finding what you need, please ask us

More about the shutdown

What happens during a government shutdown? Who is impacted?

CNN.com, Government shutdown: What's closed, what's open?

Sunlight Foundation, What Happens to .gov in a Shutdown?

Washington Post, Impact of a Government Shutdown

ERIC Documents

Use ERIC via EBSCO (NYU only) to search ERIC.

As a reminder, ERIC docs with dates before about 2000 will very likely be in our ERIC microforms collection on LL2. Users can use ERIC through EBSCO to get the sequential ED# and then find the microform in the library. Items after 2000 will be hit and miss, but might be found through other general web searching, so it's worth a shot. (Try Google Scholar: http://scholar.google.com/).

U.S. Government Data

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest) (NYU only)
Summary statistics about a wide range of topics.

Statistical Insight & Statistical Datasets (ProQuest) (NYU only)
Note: Access to Statistical Datasets is within Statistical Insight -- click the link above and then use the Related Subscriptions dropdown menu at the top of the page. You'll have to agree to run a Java application, but Statistical Datasets has data from a lot of the agencies whose sites are down right now (try "Browse by Source").

State Stats (CQ) (NYU only)
Great for quick statistics at the state level.

Historical Statistics of the United States (NYU only)
Quantitative facts of American history. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context.

Census & American Community Survey Data Tables

Census.gov and American Factfinder are currently offline.

Try these sources instead:

Social Explorer (NYU only) Census 1790-2010; all ACS releases
InfoShare Online (NYU only) Census 2000, 2010; some ACS releases (includes NYC-specific geographies)
UVa Historical Census Browser Census 1790-1960
CensusReporter.org Census Backup files  
SimplyMap (NYU only) Census 2010, 2000
Geolytics (NYU only) Collection of Census data 1960-2010 that includes normalized geographic boundaries designed for time-series research. Note: only works properly in Internet Explorer.
NHGIS: National Historical Geographic Information System Aggregate census data tables and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2011.
Missouri Census Data Center Census 2010, 2000, some tables from 1990, some tables from earlier Censuses
IPUMS-USA Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS-USA) consists of more than fifty high-precision samples of the American population drawn from fifteen federal censuses and from the American Community Surveys of 2000-2011. The IPUMS assigns uniform codes across all the samples and brings relevant documentation into a coherent form to facilitate analysis of social and economic change. (Free registration required.)
ICPSR U.S. Census Collections (NYU only) Collection of historical Census data microdata samples and special population samples. (Free registration required.)

U.S. Legislative Information

FDsys, the Federal Digital System of the Government Printing Office, WILL continue to process congressional materials, but not all government publications:

"Congressional materials will continue to be processed and posted to FDsys. Federal Register services will be limited to documents necessary to safeguard human life, protect property, or provide other emergency services consistent with the performance of functions and services exempted under the Antideficiency Act. The remaining collections on FDsys are not being updated and will resume after funding is restored."

NYU users can also access legislative materials through our Legislative Insight (ProQuest) or Congressional Publications (ProQuest) databases.

PubMed

PubMed has been designated to be maintained with minimal staff during the lapse in government funding. The information on this website will be kept as up to date as possible, and the agency will attempt to respond to urgent operational inquiries during this period.

NYU students and faculty may continue to access PubMed@ NYU

https://arch.library.nyu.edu/databases/proxy/NYU00068

Need Help?

Contact us via email, text us at 646-265-1342, or schedule an appointment.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.