Skip to main content

Slavic Studies Internet Resources: Slavic Digital Images

Digitized Slavic journals, newspapers, periodical bibliographies, books, maps, illustrations.

Slavic Maps

Slavic Study Research Guide: Maps

See Also

Slavic Image Databases, Ernest Zitser, Duke University Slavic Librarian. 

Regional Russian Images

Rossiiskaia Natsional'naia Biblioteka, Digitized Pictorial Collections

Rossiiskaia natsional'naia biblioteka pictorial collection (8,000 documents) includes photographs, engravings, lithographs, posters, advertisements documenting Russian history as seen by contemporaries.  

Istoriia Rossii v fotografiiakh  A photobank of about 71,000 Russian photographs from 1860-1999 with captions and a search engine. It is sponsored by Yandex and the the Russian Ministry of Culture.The photos come from museums, public archives, and personal collections.

Gosudarstvennaia Publichnaia Istoricheskaia Biblioteka

Gosudarstvennaia Publichnaia Istoricheskaia Biblioteka
39 digitized  illustrated publications: portraits, maps, historical costumes, satirical cartoons, architecture, etc.

Europeana

Europeana has millions of items from a range of Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums. For images, enter Russia, Poland etc. in search box, and filter results by media type, image.

Digital Public Library of America

Digitized resources from U.S. libraries, universities, archives, and museums.
     On the DPLA site search for "Russia," "Poland," etc., then under format select "image." Images from New York Public Library, National Archives at College Park, the Smithsonian, and more.