To locate material across this or other collections at NYU Libraries, you can Search our Finding Aids.
Business and Technology Management major Mahdi Chowdhury ('24) curated the exhibit "Muslim Engineers @ Tandon and Beyond" and gave a series of research talks in Fall 2023. Chowdhury's initial talk, to mark the opening of the exhibit, focused on the deep history of STEM innovations by Muslim engineers, scientists, and thinkers and the connection to the present-day Muslim community at Tandon. This talk featured lunch provided by the local halal cart, supporting a Muslim businessman in the community. Chowdhury's subsequent talks linked current Tandon students with Poly and Tandon alumni with conversations around the theme of Muslims in engineering over the past few decades. Chowdhury's work began as an online exhibit in 2022, as part of the Our Archives, Ourselves course. Chowdhury was hired as a Poly Archives Student Curator in Spring 2023 to transform his research into a physical exhibit in Dibner Library in Fall 2023.
Mahdi Chowdhury's "Muslim Engineers @ Tandon and Beyond" exhibit on display in Dibner Library, fall 2023.
The mission of the Poly Archives is to collect, preserve, and provide access to the records of the former Polytechnic Institute (1854-2014). The archives document the history of the former iterations of the school including: the Brooklyn Collegiate and Polytechnic Institute, Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn, Polytechnic Institute of New York, Polytechnic University, and Polytechnic Institute of New York University.
The Poly Archives’ rare books and special collections provide context to the archival material by providing documentation of the history of science and technology, particularly in Brooklyn, and the development of MetroTech Center.
To plan your visit to the Poly Archives see our website.