Skip to main content

Poly Archives & Special Collections: Using Poly Archives

Guide to the collections in the Poly Archives at Bern Dibner Library, New York University

Using the Materials

Poly Archives

Appointments are necessary for all researchers who wish to consult archival and manuscript materials. To schedule an appointment, please email Poly Archivist Lindsay Anderberg at landerberg@nyu.edu. Please allow 24 hours advance notice when making appointments. 

For more information about Planning Your Visit see our website. 

To locate material across this or other collections at NYU Libraries, you can Search our Finding Aids.

Use Policies

These policies are in place to protect and preserve the collections for all researchers.  Remember, archival collections contain unique material and in some cases may be the only originals in the world!  Please abide by these rules and handle the collections carefully so they will be preserved for many generations of researchers.

  • No food or drink is allowed in the archives or near archival material
  • Use only pencil when making notes
  • Clean hands or gloves are required to handle materials
  • Archival materials may not leave the library 
  • Keep archival materials in the order received
  • Some fragile items may be handled by library staff only

Restrictions

Use and reproduction of certain items may be restricted by law, university policy, or donor stipulation. Consult the archivist for more detailed information regarding use.

The archivist reserves the right to restrict access to items when usage poses a threat to the physical integrity of the items. Those items will be returned to active use after appropriate preservation actions have been taken, if feasible.

Citing Archival Material

Please observe copyright restrictions. Permission to view materials does not confer permission to reproduce or publish. If material is quoted, please cite the material.  

Consult our Citing Archival Sources page for examples of how to cite in MLA and APA formats.

Location, Hours, Contact, & Services Information

Plan Your Visit

To plan your visit to the Poly Archives see our website