Skip to main content

Affordable and Open Educational Resources: Course Content via NYU Libraries

This guide will assist NYU instructors in understanding the basics in finding, using, or creating affordable and open course content.

NYU Libraries is an essential source of online course content, with licenses to more than 1.1 million ebooks, 121,000 journals, and 1,000 databases that contain articles, images, video, audio, data, and more. Take advantage of these licenses to assemble a reading list in NYU Classes that links students directly to content.  Subject librarians are available to help locate and select licensed material relevant to your course.

Online Content via NYU Libraries Licensed Databases

Examples of ebooks available via NYU Libraries licenses:

 

There are 5 search tools for finding ebooks.  If you don't find your book in one tool, try another:

Search Tool Special Feature Limit on synchronous users? Limit on downloading & printing?
Books & More Tab Find all subscription instances and choose platform Varies per title Varies per title
Summon Search ebooks full text (not just metadata) Varies per title Varies per title
Ebook Central Read, highlight, and annotate within the platform Varies per title Varies per title
HathiTrust Access digitized public domain books; search full text No No
Individual publisher sites Search ebooks full text (not just metadata) Not usually Not usually

BobCat Books & More Tab  Go>>

  • Search tip 1:  Use Advanced Search to pinpoint the primary text (and avoid related secondary sources). 
  • Search tip 2:  Use the "Availability" filter to narrow search results to "Full Text Online

Summon   Go>>

  • Search tip:  Use Advanced Search "Author" and "Title" fields to pinpoint the primary text (and avoid a flood of related secondary sources). 
  • Reading list tip:  Get the permanent link to the article, then add the exproxy prefix: http://ezproxy.library.nyu.edu:2048/login?url=

Ebook Central   Go>>

  • Search tip:  Use Advanced Search "Author" and "Title" fields to pinpoint the primary text (and avoid a flood of related secondary sources). 
  • Reading list tip:  Get the permanent link, then add the exproxy prefix: http://ezproxy.library.nyu.edu:2048/login?url=

HathiTrust -- full text, downloadable access to 5.3 million public domain books.

  • Search tip:  Use Advanced Search "Author" and "Title" fields to pinpoint the primary text (and avoid related a flood of (and avoid related secondary sources). 
  • Reading list tip:  Get the permanent link, then add the exproxy prefix http://ezproxy.library.nyu.edu:2048/login?url=

Go to HathiTrust >>

 

Individual publishers - To browse individual publisher platforms such as Brill, Cambridge, Oxford, Routledge, Sage, Springer, Wiley and more, use this Databases A-Z page and limit "Database Type" to "Ebook Collections."  You can also limit by publisher.

Note:  Textbooks are not abundant in NYU Libraries' collections, but some of our ebook subscriptions include textbook publishers, for example Brill, Cambridge, Ebook Central, Knovel, Oxford, Palgrave, Routledge, Springer, and Wiley.

Locating a Specific Article

Use BobCat's Journals Tab to locate a specific article.  See this guide to learn how to put links to articles in your NYU Classes reading list.

 

Discovering Article Content By Searching Databases

NYU Libraries subscribes to more than 1,000 databases.  Go to BobCat's Articles & Databases Tab and select a database to search.

Examples of videos available via NYU Libraries licenses:

 

 

 

       

 

To identify databases in which you can search for videos, use this Databases A-Z page and limit "Database Type" to "Video Collections." 

 

To identify databases in which you can search for data, images, audio, and other sources, go to the Databases A-Z page and use the "Database Types" drop-down menu.

Loading

Below find information about:

Linking to library resources from a course reading list
Course Reserve for books and other physical items
Tips to share with students about services like E-ZBorrow.

Linking to NYU Libraries Resources

Put links direct links to Libraries' ebooks, articles, videos, etc. into your NYU Classes reading list using one of these options:

Linking Service: Reading list links can be created for you via the Libraries' linking service(For Global Academic Centers, see below.)

Do-It-Yourself: To enable off-campus access, be sure to route the links through the Libraries' proxy server by adding the "proxy prefix" in front of the URL.  This will prompt off-campus users to log in with their NYU Net ID and password.

Proxy prefix:
http://ezproxy.library.nyu.edu:2048/login?url=

Example:

Start with original URL:
http://www.jstor.org/stable/305680

Then add proxy prefix:
http://ezproxy.library.nyu.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/305680

For more information about linking, see this guide.

Linking Services for Global Academic Centers Faculty

NYU Libraries provides support for faculty teaching at the Global Academic Centers, including:

  • Creating links to NYU Libraries licensed articles and ebooks for your NYU Classes page.
  • Scanning limited portions of NYU Libraries' material, within Fair Use Guidelines

Inquiries about placing your reserve requests should be forwarded to the Global Services Librarian or the Assistant Director for Academics at your global locationPlease indicate the global site from which you are making your request.

The turnaround time for linking and scanning services is ~3-5 business days. Links and scans provided by NYU Libraries will be posted on your NYU Classes page.  

If you'd like to create your own links visit the NYU Classes: Adding Library Resources Guide for detailed instructions.

Course Reserves

You can request that the Libraries' copy of a book or video/media be put on Course Reserve for the semester.  You can also have your personal copy of a book, textbook, or video/media put on Course Reserve. 

Make a Course Reserve request

Tips to Share With Your Students

E-ZBorrow

When a student finds that all copies of a reading list book are checked out of the stacks, E-ZBorrow can be a good solution. This service allows users to search the combined catalogs of 50+ research and academic libraries and request books unavailable at NYU.  Delivery takes 3-5 days, borrowing period is 12 weeks.  (E-ZBorrow is not particularly reliable for textbooks.)

Interlibrary Loan

If E-ZBorrow doesn't have the book, students can submit an interlibrary loan (ILL) request.  Articles, dissertations, and other materials unavailable at NYU can also be requested via ILL.  (ILL is not particularly reliable for textbooks.)