Most start-ups are small companies with very little public information. Start your research by searching for articles in newspapers, industry publications, magazines, and reports to find information about a start-up.
Business Source Complete is a full text database of articles from popular, scholarly, and trade publications. Subjects covered include management, economics, finance, accounting, international business. Dates of coverage: 1886 to present.
LexisNexis Academic Universe provides access to full-text newspaper articles (html only - content does not include images or print layout PDFs), news wires, transcripts, and trade journals. It also contains state and federal legal cases and company profiles for U.S. and international businesses. Geographic coverage is U.S. focused with some international content.
ProQuest Central is a large, multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
ABI/INFORM features full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business, and economics periodicals. Researchers can locate country- and industry-focused reports, and its international focus provides a picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Factiva is a a resource for U.S. and international newspapers (html full text only, no images or print layout versions), news transcripts, trade journals, newsletters, industry snapshots, and market data charts for recent stock prices. Coverage dates vary from title to title, but primarily span the late 20th century to present.
Requires NetID login from on or off campus. Limited user database.
Only available in Bobst Library 5th Floor, Stern, and Shanghai Library. Provides analysis and quotes for equities and indices around the globe, current company, industry and market news, and economic data for the countries of the world.