Skip to main content

Contemporary Research in Food Studies: Archives

This guide should help anyone interested in researching topics in the new and exciting field of Food Studies.

AT NYU

 

Marion Nestle Food Studies Collection

New York University's Marion Nestle Food Studies Collection is one of the most important food studies archives in the Untied States.  Aside from the country's largest collection of cookbooks, materials include manuscript papers and audiovisual projects, from some of the most eminent figures (chefs, nutritionists, restaurateurs, etc.) in the food world today.  Archival materials particularly focus on the New York City Area.  The button below links to the collection's finding aid resource.

Critical Food Studies Series

Run at the Fales Library and Special Collection, the Critical Food Studies Series, is a regular lecture series that has been ongoing at NYU since 2010.  Almost all of the lectures are freely downloadable or streamable.  Some lectures (2010-2012) are downloadable from iTunes (found by clicking on the left button below) and others (2006-2016) are streamable from Fales' Food Video Archive (found by clicking on the right button below).

 

        

 

Voices from the Food Revolution: People Who Changed The Way Americans Eat

An oral history project conducted by Judith Weinraub
DESCRIPTION FORTHCOMING

ONLINE ARCHIVES

NYPL's What's On the Menu?

One online menu archive worth highlighting is that of the New York Public Library.  Entitled "What's On the Menu?" the collection offers any researcher access to the largest menu collection in the world.  Materials range as far back as 1840 and as recent as 2008.  The project uses volunteers to transcribe the text in order to make the entire collection machine searchable.  As of this date, the project has transcribed 17,545 menus.

Organic Roots Collection

DESCRIPTION FORTHCOMING

UNLV Menus Collection

DESCRIPTION FORTHCOMING

Cornell University Menus Collection

DESCRIPTION FORTHCOMING