East Asian Art History

TEPS is an online database offering full-text academic journals from Taiwan.

This search platform, combining the academic resources of both Taiwan and mainland China, features full-text searchable content covering academic journal articles, doctoral dissertations, and conference paper compilations, to provide high-quality and convenient Chinese knowledge service.

China Academic Journals (Zhongguo xue shu qi kan quan wen shu ju ku,中国学术期刊全文数据库) contains the full text of articles in Chinese (with English abstracts) from Chinese humanities and social science journals in the PRC. Most journal articles are available from 1994, some as early as 1915.

The China Research Gateway (CRG) database is a centralized means for discovery and access to an array of Chinese resources, including scholarly journals, monographs, statistical publications, government documents, newspapers, and dissertations. Contains CNKI databases, including China Academic Journals, China Art Digital Library, and many others.

The National Palace Museum Journals Archive is a comprehensive database of art journals published by the National Palace Museum in Taipei, offering full images and full-text search capabilities.

National Diet Library Search (NDL Search) is a comprehensive search platform that provides access to the holdings of Japan’s National Diet Library and affiliated institutions, including books, journals, newspapers, and digital archives.

Webcat Plus is a unified catalog search platform developed by Japan’s National Institute of Informatics. It aggregates bibliographic data from university libraries across Japan, enabling users to search for books, journals, and academic materials by keyword, subject, or author. One of its key features is associative search, which helps users discover related titles and themes based on their input.

J-STAGE is a platform for scholarly publications in Japan. While CiNii Research focused more on journals and publications from universities and research institutions, J-Stage offers access to publications from academic societies. Some journals may have a moving wall.

Pub DB is a comprehensive database of Japanese books in print and electronic formats currently available from commercial publishers. It offers up-to-date bibliographic information, including titles, authors, ISBNs, publishers, and availability status.

RISS International is an integrated research platform provided by the Korea Education and Research Information Service (KERIS), offering access to Korean-language journal articles, theses and dissertations, books, and media resources from over 150 universities and research institutions across South Korea.

DBPia provides access to the full text of articles in Korean scholarly journals, conference proceedings, professional journals, and E-Books.

KISS is a full-text database that provides access to over 800,000 Korean-language scholarly articles published since 1945. It includes content from more than 2,500 academic journals and 1,200 university presses and research institutes across South Korea.

Kyobo Scholar is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary full-text database that provides access to scholarly journal articles published by leading academic societies and research institutes in South Korea.

Moazine is a full-text database of over 200 popular Korean magazines of various topics currently published in South Korea. The database covers popular culture, arts, education, literature, politics, economy, and society.

Diaolong consists of multiple sub-databases, covering Chinese and Japanese historical, political, economic, religious, philosophic, literary, ethnic and geographic documents. All the contents in the database are full text searchable.
NYU Subscription:
Legitimate Taoist Canon (正統道藏)
Summary of Taoist Canons (道藏輯要)
Yongle Encyclopedia (永樂大典)
Sibu Congkan (四部叢刊)
Continuation of Sibu Congkan (續四部叢刊)
Historical Data of the Qing Dynasty (清代史料-五朝會典, 清代史料-清實錄, 清代史料-縉紳全書系列)
Complete Chinese Classics of Ancient China (古今圖書集成)
Ancient Books of Japan (日本古典書籍, 日本古典書籍-漢詩類, 日本古典書籍-古事類苑)
Historical Materials of Dunhuang Great Britain, France, Russia, Peking University, etc. (敦煌史料-英國館藏, 敦煌史料-法國館藏, 敦煌史料-俄羅斯, 北大等其他館藏)
Si Ku Quan Shu (四庫全書)
A New Edition of Si Ku Quan Shu (續修四庫全書)
Complete Collection of Si Ku Quan Shu (全四庫系列)

The database of Chinese Classic Ancient Books contains multiple editions of books from the pre-Qin period through to the Republican period. All texts are provided in full text and image format, allowing for a direct comparison of digitized text and original text image, and in some cases between different editions of the same text.

The Database of Chinese Local Records contains local gazetteers, comprising not only gazetteers of jurisdictions, but also gazetteers of temples, mountains etc. The presently completed portion (two parts of a planned five) reproduces 4000 titles dating as far back as the Song Dynasty. The database includes searchable full text, along with page-image reproductions, including original maps and tables.

A large full-text database for the study of premodern China, including classic multi-volume histories, such as Ming Shi Lu, Qing Shi Lu, etc.

The Siku Quanshu (Complete Library in Four Branches of Literature) is the Wenyuange edition, compiled between 1773 and 1782 by imperial edict of Emperor Qianlong. It contains 3,461 works covering Chinese history, literature, philosophy, politics, economics, and science. The project was undertaken by 361 scholars, who selected, edited, and annotated each work.
On-Site Access:
Six computers（PC01 - PC06） are available 24/7 on NYU Bobst Library Lower Level 1 (LL1)
1) Open the Siku Quanshu desktop icon.
2) Click “Login through authorized IP address” (no ID required).

The Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911–1949) is the largest database of its kind, providing access to around 25,000 titles of Chinese periodicals from the Republican era across 12 series.

This resource provides metadata searching and full image reproduction of Qing dynasty archival materials held at the National Palace Museum in Taiwan. Searchable fields includes the document number, document date, author, official position, topic, keyword, date of response, and response. Please contact the East Asian Studies librarian (Beth Katzoff : bk60@nyu.edu) to obtain the Group ID and PW in order to log in.

The Grand Secretariat Archives contains documents from the Ming dynasty (1368-1644) to the Qing dynasty (1644-1912) that were originally housed in the storerooms of the Grand Secretariat of the Qing dynasty. The archival materials include imperial decrees, edicts, memorials, tribute documents, examination questions, examination papers, rosters of successful examination candidates, documents from the offices of the Grand Secretariat, documents from the offices for book compilation, and old documents from Mukden. Memorials make up the bulk of these documents.
Please contact the East Asian Studies librarian (Beth Katzoff : bk60@nyu.edu) to obtain the Group ID and PW in order to log in.

An online platform developed by Peking University and associated partners that supports full-text search, poetic form and meter analysis, frequency statistics, and 格律 (regulated rhyme) processing on the Complete Song Poetry (quansongshi 全宋詩), useful for quantitative and literary research on Song-dynasty poetry.

Souyun is a comprehensive database of over 800,000 classical Chinese poems with full-text search, rhyme dictionaries, allusion and parallelism tools, and digitized editions of related historical texts, supporting both literary research and creative composition.

The China Biographical Database (CBDB) is an open-access relational database with biographical data on over 641,000 individuals from the 7th to 19th centuries, supporting statistical, spatial, and social network analysis.

The China Stone Inscription Database is a full-text and image database of Chinese inscribed stone artifacts from the Pre-Qin period to the Republic of China, offering searchable transcriptions, original rubbings, and reference tools for research.

The Digital Gazetteer of the Song Dynasty displays changing names, cities, and administrative history during the Song (960-1279) Dynasty from Sinologist Hope Wright's An Alphabetical List of Geographical Names in Sung China (1958).

The Ming Qing Women’s Writings Digital Archive and Database Project is dedicated to digitizing collections of women's writings from the Ming (1368–1644) and Qing (1644–1911) dynasties, linking each writer to the China Biographical Database and allowing users to search by publication date, genre, library collection, and personal attributes such as name, gender, ethnicity, and marital status.

The Late Qing Dynasty Full-text Database (1833–1911) provides access to around 600 titles of Chinese periodicals published during the late Qing period.

The Japanese Animated Film, TV, and Video Works Database is a comprehensive bibliographic database of Japanese animation works, maintained by the Japan Society of Animation Studies. It covers animated films, television series, OVAs, and other video works produced in Japan since 1917.

The Media Arts Database is a national-level digital catalog created by Japan’s Agency for Cultural Affairs. It provides detailed information on Japanese anime, manga, video games, and media arts exhibitions.

Japanese Film Resources Online is a cross-institutional search platform for locating non-film materials related to Japanese cinema. These include scripts, posters, still photographs, press sheets, and other ephemera held in libraries, museums, film archives, and universities across Japan.

The Media Arts Database is a national-level digital catalog created by Japan’s Agency for Cultural Affairs. It provides detailed information on Japanese anime, manga, video games, and media arts exhibitions.

The Japanese Animated Film, TV, and Video Works Database is a comprehensive bibliographic database of Japanese animation works, maintained by the Japan Society of Animation Studies. It covers animated films, television series, OVAs, and other video works produced in Japan since 1917.

This is an integrated database for historical newspapers from the 1880s to the 1950s in full-text, providing keyword, directory, trend, and chronicle searching.

KRpia is a full-text database for Korean Studies that provides access to a wide range of primary source materials in history, literature, language, philosophy, and traditional medicine. The database includes high-resolution image files of original texts in classical Chinese, accompanied by searchable modern Korean translations. Users can search in both Korean and Chinese. Key texts available include Koryosa (高麗史), Parhaesa (渤海史), and Chungbo Munhon Pigo (增補文獻備考).

KORCIS is a national union catalog and digital archive of Korean old books and manuscripts, maintained by the National Library of Korea. It aggregates bibliographic records from major institutions nationwide, including more than 44,000 full-text digitized items. The collection covers classical Korean texts in hanja and hangul, rare editions, genealogies, woodblock prints, handwritten documents, and ritual books.

Full text images of ancient classics, original and translated text files, catalogs, and bibliographies. Includes a classical term thesaurus.

Japanese Film Resources Online is a cross-institutional search platform for locating non-film materials related to Japanese cinema. These include scripts, posters, still photographs, press sheets, and other ephemera held in libraries, museums, film archives, and universities across Japan.

The most comprehensive platform for Japanese cultural and historical materials, aggregating over 31 million metadata records from 263 databases across 157 institutions—including the National Archives of Japan, the National Diet Library, and major national museums and archives.

A global platform that brings together over one million digital resources related to Japanese culture from institutions worldwide.

The Greater China Archival Resources Web Archive, curated by the Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation, preserves websites of physical archives and archival institutions in the Greater China region.

The Chinese Epigraphy Database is a comprehensive, fully digitized collection of ancient Chinese inscriptions, including bronze and stone texts from before the Qing dynasty, with high‑resolution rubbings, full transcriptions, and detailed contextual metadata.

University of Chicago Center for Art of East Asia created this interactive site to simulate the experience of viewing handscrolls and to make them more widely accessible for teaching and research. The images are sourced from international museums. The site uses software that allows users to view, annotate, and compare the wide handscroll images in a way that mimics in person interaction.

The Yale Silk Road Database includes images of major sites in the Silk Road region taken during faculty site seminars led by Mimi Hall Yiengpruksawan (Professor, History of Art) under the auspices of the Council on East Asian Studies at Yale University in the summers of 2006-2010.

This website features crowdsourced photographs of historical architecture across 23 countries in Asia.

The Chinese Rare Book Digital Collection is a digitized selection of nearly 2,000 rare Chinese-language books and manuscripts, produced before 1796, held by the Library of Congress.

Digital Dunhuang offers access to 30 grottoes dating as early as the Northern Wei dynasty (386-535) that ruled what is now northern China, through high-definition images and video that also take advantage of virtual reality technologies.

International Dunhuang Project: The Silk Road Online is an international collaboration that seeks to make information and images of all manuscripts, paintings, textiles and artifacts from Dunhuang and archaeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road freely available on the Internet and to encourage their use through educational and research programs.

Chinese Epigraphy Database is a comprehensive, fully digitized collection of ancient Chinese inscriptions, including bronze and stone texts predating the Qing dynasty, with high‑resolution rubbings, full transcriptions, and detailed contextual metadata.

The Historical Photographs of China project is a digital archive of over 20,000 photographs taken in China between 1850 and 1950, documenting everyday life, people, and places across the country.

Chinese Film Classics is a project, a book, and a website dedicated to making early Chinese films and cinema history more accessible.

The Japanese Historical Maps Collection is a digitized archive of approximately 2,300 historical maps, housed at the C. V. Starr East Asian Library at UC Berkeley. The collection includes manuscript, woodblock-printed, and copperplate-printed maps of Japan and the world, dating from the seventeenth century through the modern era.

This is a database of Japanese woodblock print images and metadata aggregated from a variety of international museums, universities, libraries, auction houses, and dealers. One notable feature is the ability to search by image in order to find similar prints across the represented collections.

This site aggregates images related to Japanese culture from museums, libraries, and research centers around the world, and makes information about them available in a consistent and reusable format. Users can search or browse by era, subject, person, originating institution, and more.

E-Museum provides high-definition images of the National Treasures and Important Cultural Properties owned by the Tokyo National Museum, Kyoto National Museum, Nara National Museum, Kyushu National Museum and the Nara National Research Institute for Cultural Properties aligned under the National Institutes for Cultural Heritage, together with their descriptions in Japanese, English, Chinese and Korean.

A union catalog that enables users to search across the collections of Japan’s four national museums: the Tokyo National Museum, Kyoto National Museum, Nara National Museum, and Kyushu National Museum.

A comprehensive digital platform maintained by the National Assembly Library of Korea, providing access to a wide range of digitized materials including government publications, legislative documents, academic theses, journals, newspapers, e-books, and multimedia resources.
This database is only accessible at Bobst Library, on the designated computers PC01–PC06 located on Lower Level 1 (LL1). User ID and password are required. Please request login credentials by contacting the East Asian Studies Librarian.
Step-by-Step Instructions:
Go to Bobst Library’s Lower Level 1 (LL1) and use one of the following computers: PC01, PC02, PC03, PC04, PC05, or PC06.
Open the web browser on the selected computer. Visit the database URL: http://dl.nanet.go.kr/index.do
If you prefer to use the English-language interface, go to https://www.nanet.go.kr/english/main.do
→ Under "Core Services", click "Digital Access."
Log in using the ID and password provided by the East Asian Studies Librarian.

The Ghosts and Monsters: Image Database compiles visual materials depicting supernatural beings such as yōkai and kaii from the Edo period to the modern era, including woodblock prints, picture scrolls, manuscripts, and rare illustrated books held by various academic institutions and museums in Japan. The database offers high-resolution images and rich metadata, enabling advanced search by period, material type, or entity depicted.

The NDL Digital Collections is the National Diet Library of Japan’s digital archive. It offers online access to digitized materials, including books, periodicals, newspapers, maps, government gazettes, historical documents, dissertations, and classical texts. Some content is freely accessible worldwide, while others are restricted to access within Japan or partner institutions.

Image Bank contains items from the National Diet Library's substantial collection of visual materials, including ukiyo-e woodblock prints, books, magazines, and other forms of published media.