East Asian Art History

The online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide and in Western languages.

Oxford Bibliographies provides regularly updated annotated bibliographies on East Asian art, including Buddhist art, literary painting and calligraphy, decorative arts, and the architecture of East Asia, among other related fields.

Discover how the site functions, how content is added, and how this trusted research resource can assist researchers with easy-to-follow step-by-step instructions through Oxford Bibliographies.

The Digital Dictionary of Buddhism is a collaborative online lexicon of East Asian Buddhist terminology, maintained by scholars and widely used in academic research.

Japanese Architecture and Art Net Users System is an online dictionary of over 8,000 terms related to traditional Japanese architecture, art, and iconography, compiled by Dr. Mary Neighbour Parent.

JapanKnowledge (ジャパンナレッジ) provides access to electronic versions of major dictionaries and
encyclopedias - essential Japanese reference sources, as well as databases for some weekly journals and maps
published in Japan. These include Nihon daihyakka zensho (日本大百科全書), Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan
(講談社), Nihon kokugo daijiten (日本国語大辞典), Gendai yōgo no kiso chishiki (現代用語の基礎知識), and
others. It contains full text of the journal, Ekonomisuto (Weekly Economist, 週刊エコノミスト), from 2015-
present. It also contains the Tōyō bunko (東洋文庫). And, it contains the Dai Kanwa Jiten (大漢和辞典 修訂第二
版)

by Richard J. Lane
ISBN: 9780399121937
Publication Date: 1978-10-24

by Robert E. Buswell (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028657189
Publication Date: 2005-06-01

by Song, Ki Joong
Publication Date: 1993

by Keith Pratt; Richard Rutt
ISBN: 9780700704644
Publication Date: 1999-09-14

by Sandra Buckley (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415143448
Publication Date: 2001-12-14

Union List of Artist Names is a searchable database maintained by the Getty Research Institute that provides standardized information on artists’ names, including variant spellings, romanizations, and transliterations, to support accurate identification and research.

by Michael Sullivan
ISBN: 9780520244498
Publication Date: 2006-04-03

by James Cahill
ISBN: 9780520314849
Publication Date: 2024-03-29

by Laurence P. Roberts
ISBN: 9780834801134
Publication Date: 1977-01-01

by Nancy N. Seymour
ISBN: 9780810820913
Publication Date: 1988-01-01

A bilingual, freely accessible database offering an alternative classification system tailored to Chinese visual culture, featuring 10,000 terms and 2,700 images from major institutions including the V&A, the MET, and the NPM Taipei.