Skip to main content

NYU Libraries logo

African Diaspora Studies: Newspapers

This guide covers materials about the presence of African descended people in Europe, Asia, and the Americas.

African American Newspapers (Digital)

Afro-American Red Star (Washington, DC), 2006- (through ProQuest Black Newspapers)

Atlanta Daily World 1931-2003 (through Black Studies Center)

Baltimore Afro-American 1893-1988

Black Panther, 1967-1980

Call & Post (Ohio edition), 2009- (through ProQuest Black Newspapers)

Call & Post (Cleveland edition) 2005-2009 (through ProQuest Black Newspapers)

Chicago Defender, 1910-1975 (through Black Studies Center)

Chicago Defender, 1999- (through ProQuest Black Newspapers)

(Chicago) Daily Defender, 1956-1975 (through Black Studies Center)

Christian Recorder (Toronto, ON) 1861 - Dec. 1902  (excluding 1892) (Through Accessible Archives)

Colored American 1837 - Mar. 1841 (Through Accessible Archives)

Douglass' Monthly, Ja. 1859 - Ag. 1863 (Through Accessible Archives)

Frederick Douglass Paper 1851 - Dec. 1856 (Through Accessible Archives)

Freedom's Journal, Mr. 1827Mr. 1829 (Through Accessible Archives)

 Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005 (through Black Studies Center)

Los Angeles Sentinel, 1991- (through ProQuest Black Newspapers)

Michigan Chronicle, 2006- (through ProQuest Black Newspapers)

National Era,  1847- Mar. 1860 (Through Accessible Archives)

New York Amsterdam News 1922-1993

New York Amsterdam News, 1993- (through ProQuest Black Newspapers)

North Star 1847- 1851 (Through Accessible Archives)

Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2002 (excludes 1913-1921)

Provincial Freemam  (Toronto, ON) 1854 - 1857 (Through Accessible Archives)




African American Newspapers (Microform)

Abolition Intelligencer and Missionary Magazine. (Kentucky)
1:1 (May 7, 1822) - 1:12 (April, 1823)

The Abolitionist, or Record of the New England Anti-slavery Society. (Boston)
1 (1833)

The African: Journal of African Affairs. (New York City)
1:1 (October, 1937) - 6:4/5 (April/May, 1948) 
Not published between November 1938 and April 1943, or between February and April 1947. 

The African Intelligencer. (Washington, D. C.)
1:1 (July, 1820) 
 

The African Repository and Colonial Journal. (Washington, D. C.)
1:1 (March, 1825) - 68:1 (January, 1892) 

 Alexander's Magazine. (Boston)
1:1 (May 15, 1905) - 7:5&6 (March-April, 1909)

American Anti-slavery Reporter. (New York City)
1:1 (January, 1834) - 1:8 (August, 1834)

The American Citizen. (Baltimore)
February 8, 1879 - ??

The Anti-slavery Examiner. (New York City)
1:1 (August, 1836) - 14 (1845?)

The Anti-slavery Record. (New York City)
1:1 (January, 1835) - 3:12 (December, 1837)

Anti-slavery Reporter. (New York City)
1:1 (June, 1833) - 1:6 (November, 1833)
 

The Anti-slavery Reporter. (London)
1:1 (January 1, 1846) - 7:82 (October 1, 1852);
new series 1:1 (January 1, 1853) - 22:6 (December 23, 1880); series 4 1:1 (January 19, 1881) - 29:2 (March-May, 1909)

 

The Anti-slavery Reporter and Aborigines Friend. (London)
series 5 1:1 (October, 1909) - 34:4 (January, 1945);
series 6 1:1 (April, 1945) - 12:7 (November, 1980) 

Anti-slavery Tracts. (New York City)
#1 (1855) - #20 (1856); new series #1 (1860) - #25 (1862)
 

The Black Republican. (New Orleans)
April 15, 1865 - ??
April 29, 1865 (1:3); May 13, 1865 (1:5); and May 20, 1865 (1:6) only.]

 The British and Foreign Anti-slavery Reporter. (London)
#1 (January 15, 1840) - #158 (December 24, 1845)
 

The Bulletin. (Louisville)
1879? - ??

Challenge. (Boston)
1:1 (March, 1934) - 2:1 (Spring, 1937)

The Cincinnati Weekly Herald and Philanthropist. (Cincinnati)
1:1 (January 1, 1836) - 11:? (December 1, 1846)
 

Colonizationist and Journal of Freedom. (Boston)
April, 1833 - April, 1834

Colored American. (Washington, D.C.)
1895 - ?? 
August 11, 1895 (issue #20) only.

The Colored American. (Augusta, GA
December 30, 1865 (Vol. 1 #3); January 6, 1866 (1:4);
and January 13, 1866 (1:5) only.]

The Colored American. (New York City)
1:9 (March 4, 1837) - ns 2:2 (December 25, 1841)

The Colored American Magazine. (Boston & New York)
1900-1909

The Colored Citizen. (Cincinnati
May 19, 1866 (Vol. 3 #29) only.

The Competitor. (Pittsburgh)
1:1 (January, 1920) - 3:4 (June, 1921)

The Crusader. (New Orleans
July 19, 1890 (Vol. 2, #23) only.]

Douglass' Monthly. (Rochester, N. Y.)
1:8 (January, 1859) - 5:10 (August, 1863)
Issues 1:1-1:7 were issued as supplements to
Frederick Douglass' Paper

The Echo. (Saint Martinville, LA
March 15, 1873 (Vol. 1 #51) only.

Frederick Douglass' Paper. (Rochester, NY)
1851 - 1860? 
[June 26, 1851 - December 14, 1855 only

The Freed-man. (London)
#1 (August, 1865) - #37 (August, 1868)

The Freedman. (Boston)
1 (1864) - 6:3 (March, 1869)

The Freedman's Friend. (Philadelphia)
#1(1864) - #20 (1883)

The Freedman's Journal. (Boston)
1:1 (January, 1865) - 2:12 (December, 1866)

The Freedmen's Advocate. (New York City)
1:1 (January, 1864) - 2:1 (January, 1865)
 

Freedom's Journal. (New York City)
#1 (March 16, 1827) - #104 (March 28, 1829)
Bobst: microfilm

The Freeman. (New York City)
November 11, 1884 - December 6, 1884

Friends' Review: A Religious, Literary and Miscellaneous Journal. (Philadelphia)
1:1 (September 4, 1847) - 48:? (July 5, 1894)

The Gazette. (Cleveland, Ohio
December 16, 1893 (Vol. 5, #45); May 19, 1894 (6:13); October 31, 1896 (8:37); November 21, 1896 (8:40); and August 7, 1894 (9:25) only

Genius of Universal Emancipation. (Ohio)
1:1 (July, 1821) - 16 (1839)

The Georgetown Planet. (Georgetown, SC
May 31, 1873 (Vol. 1 #10) only

Justice. (Chattanooga, TN
[December 24, 1887 (Vol. 1 #29) only]
 

The Liberty Bell. (Boston)
#1(1839) - #15 (1858)

Missionary Record. (charleston, SC)
July 5, 1873 (Vol. 6 #8) only

Monthly Offering. (Boston)
1:1 (July, 1840) - 2:? (November/December, 1842)

The N.C. Republican, and Civil Rights Advocate. (Weldon, NC
May 22, 1884 (Vol. 1 #2) only]
 

National Anti-slavery Standard. (New York City)
1:1 (June 11, 1840) - 30:50 (April 16, 1870)

National Era. (Washington, D. C.)
#1 (1847) - #690 (March 22, 1860) 

The Negro Farmer. (Alabama)
1914-1915
Bobst: microfilm
 

The Negro Farmer and Messenger. (Alabama)
1915-1917
Bobst: microfilm
 

New Challenge. (New York City)
2:2 (Fall, 1937)
Bobst: microfiche (4 fiche)

New South. (Beaufort, SC
1 issue, 1895

New York Age. (New York City)
October 15, 1887 - February 27, 1960.
Bobst: microfilm [from January, 1905 to 1960 only]

New York Amsterdam News. (New York City)
[1922 - 1972 & 1975 - 1992 

New York Freeman. (New York City)
December 13, 1884 - October 8, 1887
 

New York Globe. (New York City
 January, 1883 - November 8, 1884 only]

The New York Principia. (New York City)
#229 (January 11, 1866) - #232 (March 8, 1866)

The North Star. (Rochester, NY)
December 3, 1847 - April 17, 1851

The Observer. (Baton Rouge, LA
January 13, 1900 (Vol. 1 #18) only

The Pacific Appeal. (San Francisco, CA
April 24, 1875 (Vol. 11 #36) only

Palmetto Leader. (Columbia, SC
[1925-1957 only]

Philanthropist. (Ohio)
August 29, 1817 - May 15, 1822.

The Principia. (New York City)
#1 (November 19, 1859) - #226 (August 25, 1864) 

The Principia and National Era. (New York City)
#227 (June 29, 1865) - #228 (July 6, 1865)

The Republican Courier. (New Orleans, LA
December 2, 1889 (Vol. 1 #23) and January 20, 1900 (1:30) only]

Richmond Planet. (Richmond, VA
February 21, 1885 (Vol. 2 #10); June 12, 1886 (3:26); August 25, 1888 (4:37); July 27, 1889 (6:32); July 12, 1890 (7:29); March 2, 1895 (supplement only); and January 13, 1900 (17:5) only

The Rights of All. (New York City
May 29, 1829 (Vol. 1 #1); June 12, 1829 (1:2); August 7, 1829 (1:4); September 18, 1829 (1:5); and October 9, 1829 (1:6) only]

Savannah Weekly Echo. (Savannah, GA
August 26, 1883 (Vol. 4 #40); December 2, 1883 (5:2); January 20, 1884 (5:4); February 3, 1884 (5:11); and February 10, 1884 (5:12) only


The Southern News. (Richmond, VA
October 15, 1893 (Vol. 1 #9) only

Southern Republican. (New Orleans, LA
December 2, 1889 (Vol. 2 #19) and April 14, 1900 (3:25) only]

Southern Worker. (Birmingham)
1 (1930) - 7 (1937)
:

The True Reformer. (Littleton, NC)
Bobst: microfilm [July 25, 1900 (Vol. 1 #47) only

The Virginia Star. (Richmond, VA
September 8, 1877 (vol. 1 #23); September 27, 1879 (3:26); and July 23, 1881 (5:17) only

Voice of the Negro. (Atlanta & Chicago)
1 (1904) - 4 (1907) 

Weekly Advocate. (New York City)
1:1 (January 7, 1837) - 1:8 (February 25, 1837)

The Weekly Defiance. (Atlanta, GA
October 24, 1882 (Vol. 2, #20) and February 24, 1883 (2:32) only





 

Caribbean Newspapers (Microfilm)

Advocate (Bridgetown, Barbados), 63 reels, date range: 1961 – 1968

Advocate-News (Bridgetown, Barbados) , 80 reels, date range: 1968-1983

Les Antilles (Saint-Pierre, Martinique), 8 reels, date range: 1872 - 1901

L'Avenir, 2 reels,date range:1907 - 1912

Barbadian, 12reels, date range: 1822 - 1861

Barbados Advocate (Bridgetown, Barbados :1983), 24 reels, date range:1983 – 1992

Caribbean contact,1 reel, date range: 1988-90

Les Colonies, 9 reels, date range: 1881 - 1902

Courrier de laGuadeloupe, 8 reels, date range: 1881 – 1908

Daily Chronicle (Georgetown, Guyana) 60 reels, date range: 1957 - 1990

Daily News (Charlotte Amalie, V.I.), 5 reels, date range: 1950 – 1955

Daily News of theVirgin Islands, 7 reels, date range: 1955-61

La Democratie, 2 reels, date range: 1900 - 1906

Dominica Chronicle(Roseau, Dominica : 1821), 2 reels, date range: 1821-27

Dominica Chronicle,48 reels, date range: 1909-1962

Dominica Colonist, 4 reels, date range: 1848 – 1866

Dominica Tribune, 14 reels, date range: 1924 - 1951

Dominican, 15reels, date range: 1842 - 1907

L'Etincelle (Pointe-a-Pitre, Guadeloupe), 1 reel, date range: 1944 – 1962

Grand Bahamas Tribune, 5 reels, date range: 1969-1971

Independent Press (Castries, St. Lucia), 1 reel, date range: 1843 – 1844

L'Information, 13 reels, date range: 1941 - 1962

Jamaica Weekly Gleaner, 57 reels, date range: 1958 - 1991

Journal Commercial dela Guadeloupe, 1 reel, date range: 1841 - 1844

Le Nouvelliste (Pointe-a-Pitre, Guadeloupe), 30 reels, date range:1909 - 1962

Nation (Port ofSpain, Trinidad and Tobago), 9 reels, date range:1962-70

New Nation (Georgetown, Guyana) 23 reels, date range: 1962 – 1987

La Paix (Fort-de-France, Martinique), 14 reels, date range: 1916 – 1961

Le Progres de la Guadeloupe, 3 reels, date range: 1880 – 1895

Le Progres Sociale, 1 reel, date range: 1957 – 1962

Le Propagateur, 6 reels, date range: 1855 – 1893

Recueil des Actes Administratifs, 23 reels, date range: 1947 - 1985

Thunder, 6 reels, date range: 1962 – 1968

Times (Bridgetown,Barbados), 8 reels, date range: 1871-1875

Tobago Gazette, 6 reels, date range: 1871 - 1898

Trinidad Guardian, 525 reels, date range: 1917 – 1995

Tribune (Nassau),42 reels, 1988-1995

La Verite, 4 reels, date range: 1890 - 1906

Voice of St. Lucia, 77 reels, date range: 1885 - 1975

Voice (Castries,St. Lucia), 16 reels, date range: 1975 – 1986

West Indian (SaintGeorge’s, Grenada), 39 reels, date range: 1950 - 1973

Librarian

Guy Burak's picture
Guy Burak
Contact:
The Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies Librarian

The Elmer Holmes Bobst Library,
New York University
70 Washington Square South (room 1M-05A)
New York, NY 10012
Website