Research Guides: Education: Methods

Library Services Supporting Methods

Data Services

Data Services supports quantitative, qualitative, and geographical research at NYU. Data Services offers access to specialty software packages for statistical analysis, geographic information systems (GIS), and qualitative data analysis. They provide training and support, as well as consulting expertise, for many aspects of the research data lifecycle including access, analysis, collection development, data management, and data preservation.

Email: data.services@nyu.edu
Fill out our appointment form on the Data Services website
Call us: 212-998-3434
Come visit: 5th Floor, Bobst Library

Digital Scholarship Services

DSS helps students incorporate digital scholarship tools and methods into their research. They can help you to plan, analyze, visualize, store, share, and publish your digital projects. More specifically, DSS supports:

Digital publishing: project planning and management, and journal publishing consultations
Website creation: consultation on website development, organization, and platform selection (e.g., WordPress, Omeka)
Digital humanities tools and methods: text analysis, GIS, visualization, etc.
Workshops and trainings: look for “Digital Scholarship” workshops and trainings on the Library Classes calendar

Email digital.scholarship@nyu.edu or request an appointment on the DSS Appointment form

Library Workshops
Take a free workshop! Learn various data management strategies, analysis softwares, and more. RSVP for the sessions most interesting to you.

Resources to Support Methods

LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning is an online video training library with over one hundred thousand expert-led videos and thousands of courses. NYU community members can use LinkedIn Learning in connection with their LinkedIn account to learn the latest tools, software, and techniques in business, digital media, design, photography, animation, development, and more. Access to LinkedIn Learning is available in the Academics and Worktabs of NYUHome as well as through this link.
Formerly Lynda.com, LinkedIn Learning provides the same services and access to resources via the LinkedIn platform.

This resource requires an NYU NetID and password
SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Online aggregates materials from SAGE's journal and reference content, including dictionaries, datasets, case studies, and books. Researchers can explore methods with the Methods Map tool and gather context (including sample data sets) to help design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct research, and write up findings.

The Sage Encyclopedia of Educational Research, Measurement, and Evaluation
This encyclopedia covers the basics of traditional research theories and methods, and also discusses important sociopolitical issues and trends influencing the future of education research and practice.
The Oxford Handbook of Multimethod and Mixed Methods Research Inquiry
The Oxford Handbook of Multi and Mixed Methods Research Inquiry offers a range of innovative knowledge- building perspectives and methods tools with the goal of enhancing new ways of asking and addressing complex research questions. The Handbook offers multiple quantitative and qualitative theoretical and interdisciplinary visions and practice.
Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods
The Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods presents information and methodological examples from the field of survey research. This resource uses a Total Survey Error perspective that considers all aspects of possible survey error from a cost-benefit standpoint.