Research Guides: Citation Style Guide: MLA

MLA Style Center

The MLA Style Center, published by the Modern Language Association, is an MLA-authorized online companion to the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook.

Citing Sources with MLA Style Using Online Tools

For quick guidelines for applying MLA style, consult this concise and free resource available through Purdue University's Writing Lab: The Owl at Purdue.

MLA Citation Manuals

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is the only official, authorized book on MLA format. The ninth edition builds on the MLA’s unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements—facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date—that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, YouTube videos, dissertations, and more. Emphasizing source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the crucial skills of information and digital literacy.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2016 (also available in Reference Collection on the 9th Floor)
Publication Date: 2016 (8th edition)
Shorter and redesigned for easier use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list.
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing by Modern Language Association of America Staff (Created by)
Call Number: PN147 .G444 2008 Non-circulating
ISBN: 9780873522977
Publication Date: 2008 (3rd edition)
Reorganized and revised, the third edition of the MLA Style Manual offers complete, up-to-date guidance on writing scholarly texts, documenting research sources, submitting manuscripts to publishers, and dealing with legal issues surrounding publication.
The Bedford Handbook by Diana Hacker; Nancy Sommers
Call Number: PE1408 .H277 2010 Non-circulating
ISBN: 9780312479749
Publication Date: 2009-10-06
Built on Diana Hacker’s vision and developed with the help of expert composition teachers, The Bedford Handbook is the indispensable classroom and reference tool it always was — only better. Now with the strongest coverage of research writing in a full-sized handbook, the seventh edition helps students meet one of the core challenges of academic writing: maintaining their own voice while writing from sources.
A guide to MLA documentation : with an appendix on APA style by Joseph F. Trimmer
Call Number: PN147 .T75 2006
Briefer, more affordable, and easier to use than the MLA's own handbook, this popular booklet features current MLA guidelines, a new section on evaluating online sources, and an up-to-date APA appendix. The guide also provides numerous examples, a sample research paper, and helpful hints on such topics as avoiding plagiarism and taking notes.
What Every Student Should Know about Citing Sources with MLA Documentation by Michael Greer
Call Number: PN171.F56 G74 2007 Non-circulating
ISBN: 0321447379
Publication Date: 2006-06-01
This easy-to-use guide covers the essentials for documentation according to the rules of the Modern Language Association (MLA). It provides a comprehensive listing of both in-text and works cited models for a wide variety of print, electronic, and online sources. Included too are frequently asked questions about MLA style and guidelines for formatting research papers.
Cite Right by Charles Lipson
Call Number: PN171.F56 L55 2006 Non-circulating
ISBN: 9780226484747
Publication Date: 2006-10-15
Based on deep experience in the academic trenches, Cite Right is an accessible, one-stop resource—a must-have guide for students and researchers alike who need to prepare citations in any of the major disciplines and professional studies.