Research Guides: Civil and Urban Engineering: Databases & Journals

Try These First

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
AccessEngineering provides reference E-Books and instructional videos on major areas of engineering. It features content from a broad range of engineering publications, including the latest editions of classics such as Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, and Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain. This collection also includes some Schaum's outlines.
ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
The ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) Library is a digital library that provides access to a collection of civil engineering content. It contains articles from ASCE journals, papers from conference proceedings, and ebooks and standards.
Engineering Village (Formerly Compendex) This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village is a specialized discovery platform where researchers can effectively search multiple engineering databases all in one place.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary database that contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s. The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals and 120 monographs.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Knovel is a library of science and engineering ebooks, articles, handbooks, and datasets.

Additional Databases

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is a large, multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a portal for scholarship published in the sciences, engineering, and technology disciplines.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary index of peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink provides access to journal articles, books, and reference works in the biomedical sciences, life sciences, and computer sciences.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection is a multidisciplinary citation index that includes scholarly articles, conference proceedings, and books in the biomedical, psychosocial, and arts and humanities. The collections contain Science Citation, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index , Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Emerging Sources Citation Index and Current Chemical Reactions index.
Wiley Current Protocols This link opens in a new window
Current Protocols has been the leading source of laboratory protocols for over 25 years and comprises more than 14,000 straightforward, step-by-step procedures and techniques across 17 titles. This is the Protocols database of Wiley ONLINE LIBRARY.

Key Journals

Icon Key

= More information
= Some full text is available
= Database search help
= Article linker enabled
= Restricted to NYU*

* You will be prompted to log in when off-campus.

Related Guides

About Library Databases

The Library subscribes to a wide range of electronic databases. Some contain full text of journals, newspapers, magazines or books while others contain only citations and abstracts.

Off Campus Access

In most cases, you will have to login to the database if you are off campus. Login using NYU NetID and password.

More information about logging in.

Can't Find What You Need?

Ask a Librarian We can help you find the item in our collection or borrow it from another library.
Request items from other Libraries or the Interlibrary Loan Form.