Skip to main content

Spanish and Portuguese Languages and Literatures: Literary History

A guide for those interested in Spanish and Portuguese language and literature.

Bibliography of Bibliographies

The following items are comprehensive guides to general bibliographies on Spanish and Portuguese literature. They also include guides to libraries and collections, translations, periodical literature and theses.

Literary Histories and Encyclopedias

Online

Cambridge University Press Companions Online

  • The Cambridge Companion to Cervantes, 2006
  • The Cambridge Companion to Modern Spanish Culture, 2006
  • The Cambridge Companion to the Spanish Novel from 1600 to the present, 2006
  • The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature, 2008
  • The Cambridge History of Spanish Literature, 2008
  • The Literature of Al-Andalus, 2000

Gale Virtual Reference Library

  • Don Quixote: The Quest for Modern Fiction, 1990
  • Encyclopedia of World Biography, 2012
  • Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of World Literature, 2009
  • Reference Guide to World Literature, 2003
  • Spanish and Portuguese Literature, Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2007
  • Spanish Chronicles of the Indies, 1994

Print

Bibliographies

Online

Oxford Bibliographies (search or browse inside the Bibliographies for entries on the topics below)

  • Early Modern Portugal, Atlantic History
  • Hebrew Poetry in Spain
  • Iberian Theater and Performance, Medieval Studies
  • Portugal, Renaissance and Reformation
  • Spain, Medieval Studies
  • Spanish Literature, Renaissance and Reformation
  • Women Writing in Early Modern Spain, Renaissance and Reformation

Palmer, Maria Del Carmen Simon. Bibliografía de la literatura española desde 1980. Madrid: Chadwyck-Healey Espana, 1998. 

Print