Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physical Therapy

Guide to locating research evidence and tools for Physical Therapy students and faculty.

Saving Searches in Database Accounts

If you're working on crafting a search strategy that you intend to you return to repeatedly, edit, and revise, it can be extremely helpful to save that strategy in the database for later updates.  Most of the core health sciences databases offer you the option of creating an account and saving your own searches.  See the resources below for information about creating your personal database accounts and saving searches.    

Medline via PubMed 

CINAHL Complete

PsycNET (with PsycINFO)

PsycINFO via Ovid

Saving Search Terms in External Documents

In addition to saving searches in the native database account where they were conducted, it may also be helpful to save them in an external document, which offers more flexibility for tracking the iterations of the search and making notes about useful/not useful terms.  The resources below may be helpful for documenting your search terms

A Reproducible Search String

When you save your search strategy outside of the native database environment, it is helpful to include sufficient details to make it as reproducible as possible.  You should note:

  • The name and platform of the database you searched (e.g. CINAHL via EBSCO or PsycINFO via PsycNET)
  • The terms you searched
  • How they were combined with Boolean operators (ANDs / ORs)
  • The database specific syntax you used
    • If you searched specific fields using field tags (e.g. the subject field, using the tag MH). If you did not specify the field, it's likely you searched for terms in 'all fields'.
    • Database-specific punctuation you used 
  • The date you performed the search

The image below shows an annotated example of the information that might be included in a reproducible search string.

Reproducible search string, showing field tags, punctuation, filtering and database information