Research Guides: Physical Therapy: Health Data &amp; Statistics

Data vs. Statistics

When searching for health data or statistics, consider the difference:

"Data is the raw information from which statistics are created. Put in the reverse, statistics provide an interpretation and summary of data¹ "

For additional resources and tips for locating data or statistics related to health topics, visit the Health Data & Statistics Research Guide

1.Data vs. Statistics (MSU Libraries Research Guides)

Sources for Data & Statistics

National Center for Health Statistics
The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) (http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/) collects and disseminates data on major health indicators affecting the population.

Incidence & Prevalence Database (IPD) This link opens in a new window
The Incidence and Prevalence Database (IPD) looks at the world's epidemiology data. The IPD covers over 4,500 diseases, procedures, symptoms and other health issues for incidence, prevalence, morbidity, mortality, comorbidity, treated or diagnosed rates and cost.

Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services
Regulations, guidance, research, statistics and data all from the Health and Human Services Department.
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey

Data Sets Related to CSD

These shared data sets have been identified on ASHA.org as potentially useful for researchers

Moss Aphasia Psycholinguistics Project Database
Moss Rehabilitation Research Institute (MRRI). Database of experimental behavioral data from persons with aphasia, including picture naming and other tests of cognitive function
The Fromkin Speech Error Database
Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics. Corpus of speech errors coded by target language, error type, process procedure, and process direction
NICHD Study of Early Child Care and Youth Development (SECCYD)
Data from longitudinal study about the relationships between child care experiences, child care characteristics, and children's developmental outcomes; must apply for data access
Rehabilitation Dataset Directory, Center for Large Data Research & Data Sharing in Rehabilitation (CLDR)
Helps identify potential secondary sources of large-scale datasets
TalkBank
Coordinated by Brian MacWhinney, Carnegie Mellon University. Shared databases of recordings and coded transcripts within subfields studying communication, including conversation, child language, multilingualism, and clinical areas such as aphasia, autism, dementia, fluency, right hemisphere disorders (RHD), and traumatic brain injury (TBI).