Medieval manuscripts can be found in several ways:
There are a few online collections of digitized medieval manuscripts, which are listed on this page.
You may have a citation provided by another scholar, which will take the form of the repository and the manuscript's shelfmark - e.g. the so-called Codex Vaticanus, one of the oldest manuscripts of the Greek Bible, is in the Vatican Library's Greek manuscript collection and would be cited as: Vat. gr. 1209.
Most large repositories have produced published manuscript catalogues, which list their holdings and give brief descriptions. A few of these catalogues have been put online and are listed on this page.
The finest collection of printed manuscript catalogues in the U.S. is uptown in Columbia University's Rare Book and Manuscript Library.
The essential guide to catalogues of Latin manuscripts is: Paul Oskar Kristeller, Latin manuscript books before 1600: a list of the printed catalogues and unpublished inventories of extant collections - fourth revised and enlarged edition by Sigrid Krämer (Munich, Monumenta Germaniae Historica, 1993). Bobst collection at Z6605.L3 K75 1993.
A supplement edited by Krämer and Birgit Christine Arensmann appeared in 2007. Z6601.A1 K68 2007
Also essential for scholars of Renaissance manuscripts is Kristeller's Iter Italicum ;a finding list of uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued humanistic manuscripts of the Renaissance in Italian and other libraries, 6 vols. (London : Warburg Institute, 1963-1997 ).
It is available in the Reference Collection of Bobst Libary at: Z6611.H8 K7.
This project, part of the Virtual Manuscript Library of Switzerland, seeks to reconstruct virtually the magnificent manuscript collection of St. Gall. The initial phase will make available all 355 mss. dating from before 1,000 C.E.
Cambridge University Library MS. Ee.3.59 - the only copy of an illustrated Anglo-Norman verse Life of St Edward the Confessor, written in England probably in the later 1230s or early 1240s, and preserved in this manuscript, executed c. 1250-60.
This site was designed to enable users to find fully digitized manuscripts currently available on the web. Search on specific terms or by particular fields, e.g. date or provenance or browse by the Location of an archive or library, the shelfmark of an item, the author of a text, or by the language.
Links leading to collections containing fully digitized medieval manuscripts, one for digitized individual manuscripts, and one devoted to projects choosing to digitize selected pages for things like illustrations, examples musical notation, etc.
An image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research. As of 2009 there were nearly 25,000 images of over 5,000 mss.
The purpose of this page is to present a number of links to medieval manuscript facsimiles containing Marie's work, some illustrated, accompanied by other relevant resources. It is part of the Andy Holt Virtual Library's "Manuscripts of Medieval France with Vernacular Texts", a collection of over 1000 links to manuscript facsimiles, which will include nearly all of the French medieval literarary canon, and much more.
The database contains descriptions of all medieval western manuscripts up to c. 1550 written in Latin script and preserved in public and semi-public collections in the Netherlands. Select images of the manuscripts are available.
The site presents the full facsimile of the manuscript, New York, Morgan, M. 905, vols. I and II, selected chants recorded by the Schola Hungarica, videos with background information and critical commentary in English and German, a codicological report, archival sources, and bibliography.
Produced in Nuremberg between 1503 and 1510, the book preserves the complete mass liturgy compiled for the parish of St. Lorenz and used until the Reformation was introduced in the city in 1525. The manuscript is famous for its representations of animals, wild folk, and dragons.
This site was designed to enable users to find fully digitized manuscripts currently available on the web. Search on specific terms or on particular fields, such as date, or provenance information. Browse by the Location of an archive or library, the shelfmark of an item, the author or the language of a text.
HMML, located at St. John's University in Collegeville, Minnesota, is the home of the world's largest collection of manuscript images. Since 1965 they have been microfilming, and since 2003 digitizing, manuscripts from monasteries & libraries.