Research Guides: Medieval and Renaissance Studies: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

The most important indices to periodical literature in Medieval and Renaissance Studies are the Medieval Bibliographies database. This includes:

All of the following indices can be helpful for a variety of topics.

Religion Database (ATLA) This link opens in a new window
The Religion Database, sponsored by the American Theological Library Association, is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Dates of coverage: 1949 to the present.

Bibliography of the History of Art
Covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present, indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.

BrepolisOnline This link opens in a new window
Brepols Periodica offers more than 12,000 journal articles for material published in 2006 or earlier. It consists of scholarly articles in the humanities, many of which are otherwise rare or hard to-locate, comprising articles published from the early twentieth century onwards.
Essay & General Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Essay and General Literature Index allows users to locate essays published in anthologies, annual and serial essay collections, and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. The Index covers essay collections published from 1985 to the present.

Feminae: Medieval Women & Gender Index
An index to journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. More than 500 journals are indexed.

Index Religiosus This link opens in a new window
The Index Religiosus is an international reference bibliography for academic publications in Theology, Religious Studies and Church History. It covers publications written in various European languages (English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, etc.
As of January 2014, the Index Religiosus replaces the printed versions of the bibliography of the Revue d’histoire ecclésiastique and the Elenchus Bibliographicus.

IBZ : Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur aus allen Gebieten des Wissens : Register der Schlagwörter, 1975-1990 by Wolfram Zeller; Otto Zeller
Call Number: Reference AI9 .I29 1991
Publication Date: 1991
An "international bibliography of periodical literature covering all fields of knowledge." It indexes periodical articles in all subject areas from around the world in German, French and English.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of more than 1,047,000 records for articles, essays, books, dissertation abstracts, encyclopedia entries and reviews from 9,757 publications, including 1,707 journals for study of the Middle Ages & the Renaissance.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Rarely useful for Medieval & Renaissance Studies - An index to European and world history from 1450 to the present, searchable by author, subject and keyword. Covers about 2000 historical journals published in 50 languages.
Medieval Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
The essential resource for finding articles in the field of Medieval Studies. Includes the International Medieval Bibliography and the Bibliographie de Civilisation Medievale.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
An electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1990/1991. Every article is indexed.