Psychological, Health, and Educational Tests

From the APA: Tests... is a bibliographic encyclopedia containing information on thousands of testing instruments in psychology, education, and business. It provides concise descriptions of tests, with each entry including the test title and author, the intended population, the tests purpose, the major features, the administration time, the scoring method, the cost and availability, and the primary publisher.

In addition to discussing the essential features of measurement, these two volumes present hundreds of relatively brief questionnaires on a wide range of emotional and behavioral problems of couples, families, children and adults.

Note: This resource provides an index to educational tests available in microform called Tests in Microfiche, available in the Microform Collection at Bobst Library Lower Level 2, call # MF 2514.

Measures of Personality and Social Psychological Attitudes provides a comprehensive guide to useful measures of important social science concepts.

The Handbook includes over a 130 instruments organized under 40 topics, extracted from the research literature. Each instrument is discussed in detail concerning its measurement characteristics used in its development. A section also includes Instruments Available through Commercial Organizations, which provide the latest sources for teacher and principal evaluation.

This book provides a compendium of patient teaching tools for use in all areas of health care practice.

For other tests available in compilations, visit: Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests available in compilation volumes (University of Texas at Arlington Library).

The Compendium of Quality of Life Instruments is an example of a site where the table of contents of a test collection can be browsed online.

This resources is available online as well as in print.

This resource includes lengthy review of the tests included.

A Companion to Mental Measurements Yearbook, TIP contains descriptive listings and references (no reviews) of commercially published tests that are in print and available for purchase. It can also be used as an index to the print version of Mental Measurements Yearbook; TIP V indexes test reviews from 1938-1999.

Includes evaluations of 150 scales along with the test questions.

This three-volume handbook represents a significant and indispensable reference tool for those studying the family. Vol. 1 contains full abstracts of 504 instruments plus abbreviated descriptions of another 472. Basic scale construction issues can be examined through the combined use of Vol. 2 & 3. An excellent reference tool that will fulfil researchers and clinicians need for quality instrumentation.

Print copy: https://getit.library.nyu.edu/resolve?umlaut.referent_id=19294486&url_ver=Z39.88-2004&url_ctx_fmt=info%3Aofi%2Ffmt%3Akev%3Amtx%3Actx&ctx_ver=Z39.88-2004&ctx_tim=2023-02-02T17%3A59%3A23-05%3A00&ctx_id=&ctx_enc=info%3Aofi%2Fenc%3AUTF-8&rft.btitle=Assessment+in+counseling+%3A+a+guide+to+the+use+of+psychological+assessment+procedures&rft.date=2014&rft.eisbn=1-119-01926-5&rft.genre=book&rft.isbn=9781556203183&rft.language=eng&rft.lccn=2012026881&rft.object_id=3710000000272952&rft.oclcnum=798500003&rft.place=Alexandria%2C+VA&rft.primo=dedupmrg238919570&rft.private_data=%3Cnyu_aleph%3E004036776%3C%2Fnyu_aleph%3E%3Cgrp_id%3E338751084%3C%2Fgrp_id%3E%3Coa%3E%3C%2Foa%3E&rft.pub=American+Counseling+Association&rft.title=Assessment+in+counseling+%3A+a+guide+to+the+use+of+psychological+assessment+procedures&rft.au=Hays%2C+Danica+G&rft.aulast=Hays&rft.aufirst=Danica+G.&rft.auinitm=G&rft_val_fmt=info%3Aofi%2Ffmt%3Akev%3Amtx%3Abook&rfr_id=info%3Asid%2Fprimo.exlibrisgroup.com%3Aprimo-dedupmrg238919570

While some traditional assessment instruments have become prohibitively expensive, as with many other fields, the Internet offers a host of more affordable and equitable alternative assessment tools at little or no cost. The pitfall of this alternative, thus far, has been the lack of vetting and quality assessment. This book fills this gap by providing the first analysis and assessment of these tools, provided by some of the leading names in mental health assessment instruments. This resource identifies the most efficient free-access instruments and provides summary information about administration, scoring, interpretation, psychometric integrity, and strengths and weaknesses. The book is organized around the most common broad range issues encountered by helping professionals, and whenever possible, a link to the instrument itself is provided.

Vol 1 ebook: https://getit.library.nyu.edu/resolve?umlaut.referent_id=19294482&url_ver=Z39.88-2004&url_ctx_fmt=info%3Aofi%2Ffmt%3Akev%3Amtx%3Actx&ctx_ver=Z39.88-2004&ctx_tim=2023-02-02T17%3A56%3A57-05%3A00&ctx_id=&ctx_enc=info%3Aofi%2Fenc%3AUTF-8&rft.btitle=APA+handbook+of+testing+and+assessment+in+psychology.+Vol.+1%2C+Test+theory+and+testing+and+assessment+in+industrial+and+organizational+psychology&rft.date=2013&rft.genre=book&rft.isbn=9781433812279&rft.place=Washington%2C+D.C.&rft.primo=ERESDSAapapsyc_apa09244887&rft.private_data=%3CERESDSA%3Eapapsyc_apa09244887%3C%2FERESDSA%3E%3Cgrp_id%3E396159419%3C%2Fgrp_id%3E%3Coa%3E%3C%2Foa%3E&rft.pub=American+Psychological+Association&rft.title=APA+handbook+of+testing+and+assessment+in+psychology.+Vol.+1%2C+Test+theory+and+testing+and+assessment+in+industrial+and+organizational+psychology&rft.tpages=2010&rft.au=Kurt+F.+Geisinger&rft.aulast=Geisinger&rft.aufirst=Kurt+F.%2C&rft.auinitm=F&rft_val_fmt=info%3Aofi%2Ffmt%3Akev%3Amtx%3Abook&rfr_id=info%3Asid%2Fprimo.exlibrisgroup.com%3Aprimo-ERESDSAapapsyc_apa09244887

Vol 2 ebook: https://getit.library.nyu.edu/resolve?umlaut.referent_id=19294483&url_ver=Z39.88-2004&url_ctx_fmt=info%3Aofi%2Ffmt%3Akev%3Amtx%3Actx&ctx_ver=Z39.88-2004&ctx_tim=2023-02-02T17%3A57%3A50-05%3A00&ctx_id=&ctx_enc=info%3Aofi%2Fenc%3AUTF-8&rft.btitle=APA+handbook+of+testing+and+assessment+in+psychology.+Vol.+2%2C+Testing+and+assessment+in+clinical+and+counseling+psychology&rft.date=2013&rft.genre=book&rft.isbn=9781433812279&rft.place=Washington%2C+D.C.&rft.primo=ERESDSAapapsyc_apa09244894&rft.private_data=%3CERESDSA%3Eapapsyc_apa09244894%3C%2FERESDSA%3E%3Cgrp_id%3E396159395%3C%2Fgrp_id%3E%3Coa%3E%3C%2Foa%3E&rft.pub=American+Psychological+Association&rft.title=APA+handbook+of+testing+and+assessment+in+psychology.+Vol.+2%2C+Testing+and+assessment+in+clinical+and+counseling+psychology&rft.tpages=2010&rft.au=Kurt+F.+Geisinger&rft.aulast=Geisinger&rft.aufirst=Kurt+F.%2C&rft.auinitm=F&rft_val_fmt=info%3Aofi%2Ffmt%3Akev%3Amtx%3Abook&rfr_id=info%3Asid%2Fprimo.exlibrisgroup.com%3Aprimo-ERESDSAapapsyc_apa09244894

Vol 3 ebook: https://getit.library.nyu.edu/resolve?umlaut.referent_id=19294485&url_ver=Z39.88-2004&url_ctx_fmt=info%3Aofi%2Ffmt%3Akev%3Amtx%3Actx&ctx_ver=Z39.88-2004&ctx_tim=2023-02-02T17%3A58%3A35-05%3A00&ctx_id=&ctx_enc=info%3Aofi%2Fenc%3AUTF-8&rft.btitle=APA+handbook+of+testing+and+assessment+in+psychology.+Vol.+3%2C+Testing+and+assessment+in+school+psychology+and+education&rft.date=2013&rft.genre=book&rft.isbn=9781433812279&rft.place=Washington%2C+D.C.&rft.primo=ERESDSAapapsyc_apa09244931&rft.private_data=%3CERESDSA%3Eapapsyc_apa09244931%3C%2FERESDSA%3E%3Cgrp_id%3E396160877%3C%2Fgrp_id%3E%3Coa%3E%3C%2Foa%3E&rft.pub=American+Psychological+Association&rft.title=APA+handbook+of+testing+and+assessment+in+psychology.+Vol.+3%2C+Testing+and+assessment+in+school+psychology+and+education&rft.tpages=2010&rft.au=Kurt+F.+Geisinger&rft.aulast=Geisinger&rft.aufirst=Kurt+F.%2C&rft.auinitm=F&rft_val_fmt=info%3Aofi%2Ffmt%3Akev%3Amtx%3Abook&rfr_id=info%3Asid%2Fprimo.exlibrisgroup.com%3Aprimo-ERESDSAapapsyc_apa09244931

Print copy available at https://getit.library.nyu.edu/resolve?umlaut.referent_id=19295010&url_ver=Z39.88-2004&url_ctx_fmt=info%3Aofi%2Ffmt%3Akev%3Amtx%3Actx&ctx_ver=Z39.88-2004&ctx_tim=2023-02-03T09%3A46%3A57-05%3A00&ctx_id=&ctx_enc=info%3Aofi%2Fenc%3AUTF-8&rft.btitle=Developing+and+validating+rapid+assessment+instruments&rft.date=2009&rft.eisbn=1-282-33553-7&rft.eisbn_additional=978-0-19-971550-3&rft.genre=book&rft.isbn=9780195333367&rft.isbn_additional=978-0-19-986430-0&rft.language=eng&rft.lccn=2008044056&rft.object_id=2560000000301268&rft.oclcnum=480612642&rft.place=New+York%2C+NY&rft.primo=dedupmrg27653669&rft.private_data=%3Cnyu_aleph%3E004144728%3C%2Fnyu_aleph%3E%3Cgrp_id%3E52097880%3C%2Fgrp_id%3E%3Coa%3E%3C%2Foa%3E&rft.pub=Oxford+University+Press&rft.title=Developing+and+validating+rapid+assessment+instruments&rft.tpages=232&rft.au=Abell%2C+Neil&rft.aulast=Abell&rft.aufirst=Neil.&rft_val_fmt=info%3Aofi%2Ffmt%3Akev%3Amtx%3Abook&rfr_id=info%3Asid%2Fprimo.exlibrisgroup.com%3Aprimo-dedupmrg27653669

Online only

Online only