Research Guides: Technology, Culture and Society: Journals and Databases

Selected Journals

Social Studies of Science
An international review of research in the social dimensions of science and technology.
Science, Technology & Innovation Studies
Analytical, theoretical and methodological studies on the creation and use of scientific knowledge and its relation to society, on the development of technology and its social impact and control and on innovation in industry and in the public sector.
International Journal of Performance Arts and Digital Media
Draws on research from the rapidly developing interface between new technologies and performance arts. Topics include cultural mediatization, live performance with interactive systems, and motion capture technologies, among many others.
Advances in Experimental Social Psychology
Contains contributions of major empirical and theoretical interest. It represents the new research, theory, and practice in social psychology.
Smart and Sustainable Built Environment
Aims to inform research and industry practice on integrated approaches to developing smart and sustainable built environments, linking together the various sustainable targets, bottom-lines, endpoints and project deliverables through whole development cycles and project processes.
Cities
Cities publishes articles on many aspects of urban planning and policy. It distinguishes itself by providing an international and interdisciplinary platform for the exchange of ideas and information among urban planners, policy makers and analysts, and urbanists from all disciplines.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full-text database with full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study. Users can access articles, book chapters, images, videos, reviews, both from peer-reviewed and popular resources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to journal articles, users can access book chapters, ebooks, and primary source documents.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is a large, multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection is a multidisciplinary citation index that includes scholarly articles, conference proceedings, and books in the biomedical, psychosocial, and arts and humanities. The collections contain Science Citation, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index , Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Emerging Sources Citation Index and Current Chemical Reactions index.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
SAGE Knowledge is a social sciences digital library. It includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, business case studies, handbooks, series, videos, professional development titles, and more.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
Interaction of Color Complete Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
This complete digital edition of Josef Albers' classic text "Interaction of Color" is packed with features that help you to explore the book’s ideas and experiment with color.

Features include navigation between text, commentary, and 122 of the original edition's plates, access to archival audio and video of Josef Albers leading you through special exercises, and the ability to create and share your own version of interactive plates.

About Library Databases

The Library subscribes to a wide range of electronic databases. Some contain full text of journals, newspapers, magazines or books while others contain only citations and abstracts.

Off Campus Access

In most cases, you will have to login to the database if you are off campus. Login using NYU NetID and password.

More information about logging in.

Can't Find What You Need?

Ask a Librarian He or she can help you find the item in our collection or refer to you to document delivery services or our consortium libraries.
Visit one of our consortium libraries to check out a book we don't have.
Request a book, article, or book chapter to be sent to you via EZBorrow or ILL (Inter-Library Loan).