Skip to main content

NYU Libraries logo

RSS: Making Information Come to You: RSS for Research

What is RSS? Why use it? And how to make it work for you

Library Feeds

Learn about new resources and valuable research tips by subscribing to the library's news feed:

Other NYU Library News:

New Items in the Catalog

You can get an alert everytime an item of interest is added to the library's catalog:

  1. Conduct your search
  2. Click the RSS icon in the upper left area of your search results
  3. Add the feed to your reader

JournalTOCS - Table of Contents

JournalTOCS is a free online service that let's you easily search and subscribe to journal table of contents.

It enables you to:

  • Search for journals with RSS feeds by Title, Subject or Publisher.
  • View the latest TOC for each journal.
  • Link to the full text of 350,738 articles (where library subscription allows).
  • Export TOC feeds to your feedreaders.

Full Text Articles and Feeds

Most online journals and databases require an NYU-Poly IP address or you need to log in using your Last name and ID number.

This can cause problems when trying to access full text resources from RSS feeds. You usually can get the titles/headlines and abstracts, but if you try to go to the full text the publisher may not recognize you.

To work around this problem, add a proxy string to the URL of the story you are trying to access, which will route you through the library's proxy server. See: Manually Inserting the Proxy String

Journal Feeds

The home page of a journal will often have a  feed for the tables of contents, or publishers will have a single page listing all their journal and news feeds together.

Here is a small sample of journals and publishers with RSS feeds.  If you do not immediately see an RSS icon, click on the journal title to go to its home page. Is your favorite journal not listed below?  Check the home page of the journal you're interested in to see if an RSS feed is available.

Custom Searches in Databases

Many databases allow you to create an RSS feed for your searches.  After conducting a search, look for a link or button to save the search as a feed, and any new item that matches your search will appear in your reader.

Search feeds may expire or not be recognized by readers. If your search feed does not function properly, contact a librarian for help.

Here are just a few of the databases that offer RSS for searches:

Social Bookmarking Feeds

Some social bookmarking sites offer RSS feeds to alert you whenever a new resource tagged with your keywords is saved.

  • CiteULike: a bookmarking service to help you to store, organise and share the scholarly papers you are reading. You can get feeds for new items added by individuals, groups or topic.

  • Del.icio.us: a widely used social bookmarking service, but not geared to scholarly works.  The RSS icon appears at the bottom of each page.