Research Guides: Featured Science and Engineering Sources: Biology

Databases by Subject

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An expansive index to the world’s life sciences journal literature, with topics ranging from biochemistry to microbiology to pharmacology. Includes over 4,200 journal titles, 1969-present.

BioMed Central
Over 210 peer-reviewed open access journals covering biology and medicine. Browse by subject or conduct an advanced search (free registration required).

BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, biotechnology, and more. Access content from journals, meetings, patents, and books from 1926-present.
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Includes over 360 titles covering a wide range of biology topics, with more than 315 available in full text. Scroll down the list of databases to select this option.
Medline via PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary index of peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings.

PLOS
Public Library of Science (PLOS) publishes open access journals across the range of science and medicine.

Zoological Record (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology. Backfiles available to 1864

Check Multidisciplinary Databases for additional biology resources.

= More information
= Some full text is available
= Database search help
= Article linker enabled
= Restricted to NYU*

* You will be prompted to log in when off-campus.