Skip to main content

NYU Libraries logo

Research Institute for the Study of Man (RISM): RISM: The French W. Indies

The Collections of RISM at New York University

A Note on Finding RISM Materials in Bobst Library

This page provides a list of RISM books and serials on the French West Indies held in the Bobst Library circulating collections. It is provided to give the researcher an impression of the range of materials offered in the RISM collections at NYU Libraries. To find a particular item held in the Bobst collections, however, a researcher is best to search the Libraries' online catalog, BobCat. If you are looking for materials related to a particular country, searching BobCat by subject is the most effective way to identify all relevant materials held by the NYU Libraries, both those drawn from the RISM collections and those previously owned by the Libraries or purchased subsequent to the arrival of the RISM collections.

RISM Materials at NYU Libraries on the French West Indies

Abiola Irele. Literature and Ideology in Martinique: René Maran, Aimé Césaire, Frantz Fanon. Buffalo, N.Y.: Buffalo, N.Y. : State University of New York at Buffalo. Council on International Studies, 1972.

Aimé Césaire. Non-Vicious Circle : Twenty Poems of Aimé Césaire. Ed. Gregson Davis. Stanford, Calif.: Stanford, Calif. : Stanford University Press, 1984.

Annales Des Antilles.

Anne, Marie Louise. La Vocabulaire Du Parler Créole De La Martinique. Paris: Paris : C. Klincksieck, 1956.

Les Annuaires Noria, Guide Économique. Martinique-Guadeloupe.

Antilla Spécial. (1983).

Archives de, la Martinique. Guide Des Archives De La Martinique. Ed. Liliane Chauleau. Fort-de-France Martinique: Fort-de-France Martinique : Archives départementales, 1978.

---. La Seconde Guerre Mondiale : Formes De Résistance Et Dissidence à La Martinique : Exposition. Ed. Liliane Chauleau. Fort-de-France: Fort-de-France : La Direction, 1990.

Association des ingénieurs de,la Martinique. Techniques & Développement Aux Antilles, no. 3 : Revue De l'Association Des Ingénieurs De La Martinique. Ed. Victor Drame. Fort de France: Fort de France : L'Association, 1991.

Bilan De l'Agriculture Martiniquaise.

Bulletin De Statistique Des Départements Et Territoires d'Outre-Mer. Bull.stat.dép.territ.O.m. (1971).

Bulletin De Statistique. Départements d'Outre-Mer, Territoires d'Outre-Mer. Bull.stat.- Dép.O.m.Territ.O.m. (1966).

Bulletin Mensuel De Statistique: Martinique.

Carriacou and Petite Martinique in the Mainstream of the Revolution. St. George's, Grenada: St. George's, Grenada. Fedon Publishers : Distributed by Grencraft, 1982.

Les Causes De Décès Dans Les Départements d'Outre-Mer En.

Ch Mismer (Charles), b. 1832. Souvenirs De La Martinique Et Du Mexique Pendant l'Intervention Française. Paris: Paris : Librairie Hachette, 1890.

Clément Richer. Ti-Coyo and His Shark, and, Son of Ti-Coyo. Ed. Gerard Hopkins and John Richards. London: London : Transworld Publishers, 1956.

Les Colonies [Microform] : Journal De La Martinique. (1878).

Commentaire Des Principaux Résultats Touristiques Pour l'Année. (198).

Comptes Économiques De La Martinique.

Cosimo Brunetti ca. 1620-ca. 1680. Cosimo Brunetti: Three Relations of the West Indies in 1659-1660. Ed. Susan Heller Anderson. Philadelphia: Philadelphia : American Philosophical Society, 1969.

Courbain, J. C. Déclarations Annuelles Des Salaires : Résultats 1985. Ed. Institut national de la statistique et des études économiques (France). Service interrégional Antilles-Guyane. Pointe à Pitre: Pointe à Pitre : République française, Institut national de la statistique et des études économiques, Service interrégional Antilles Guyane, 1986.

Delile Diman-Antenor. Les Budgets Des Ménages, 1984-1985 : Principaux Résultats. Ed. Institut national de la statistique et des études économiques (France). Service interrégional Antilles-Guyane. Pointe-à-Pitre: Pointe-à-Pitre : République française, Institut national de la statistique et des études économiques, Service interregional Antilles-Guyane, 1986.

Données Sociales. Ed. Institut national de la statistique et des études économiques (France). Service interrégional Antilles-Guyane. Pointe-à-Pitre: Pointe-à-Pitre : Le Service, 1983.

Elie (Pierre), P. Recensement Général De La Population En 1974 : Départements d'Outre-Mer : Martinique. Ed. C. (Claire) Maroger. Paris: Paris : Institut national de la statistique et des études économiques, 1983.

Ellen M. Schnepel. The Other Tongue, the Other Voice : Language and Gender in Creole Studies. Ed. American Anthropological Association. Meeting : New Orleans,La.)., 1990.

Emile Hayot. Les Officiers Du Conseil Souverain De La Martinique Et Leurs Successeurs, Les Conseillers De La Cour d'Appel, 1675-1830 : Notices Biographiques Et Généalogiques. Fort-de-France: Fort-de-France : Société d'histoire de la Martinique, 1964.

Eugène Goyheneche. Des Îles Et Des Hommes. Ed. Maurice Nicolas. Fort-de-France, Martinique: Fort-de-France, Martinique : Éditions de horizons caraïbes, 1956.

Eugène Revert. Les Antilles. Paris: Paris : A. Colin, 1954.

---. De Quelques Aspects Du Folk-Lore Martiniquais : La Magie Antillaise. Thèse complémentaire--Lyons, 1951 Paris.

Félix Rose-Rosette. La Martinique. Paris: Paris : A. & P. Jarach, 1953.

Fort-De-France Dans Les Années 30 : II. Ed. Martinique. Conseil régional and Martinique. Bureau du patrimoine. Fort-de-France: Fort-de-France : Bureau du patrimoine du Conseil régional de la Martinique, 1990.

Fred Célimène. La Caraïbe Et La Martinique : Faits Et Décisions Économiques. Ed. François Vellas. Paris: Paris : Economica, 1990.

Gérard Gauthier. Enquête Sur l'Emploi De 1986 : Principaux Résultats. Ed. Institut national de la statistique et des études économiques (France). Service interrégional Antilles-Guyane. Pointe-à-Pitre: Pointe-à-Pitre : INSEE, 1988.

Guadeloupe, Guyane, Martinique, Saint-Pierre Et Miquelon. Ed. Adrien Le Page, et al. Paris: Paris : Société d'éditions géographiques, maritimes et coloniales, 1931.

Hans W. Hannau 1904-. Martinique. Munich: Munich : Andermann, 1967.

Henry Lémery b. 1874. La Révolution Française à La Martinique. Paris: Paris : Larose, 1936.

INSEE Martinique. Numéro Special Sur Les Salaires à La Martinique En 1967. Fort-de-France, Martinique: Fort-de-France, Martinique : L'Institut, 1967.

Jacques, Petitjean Roget. Le Gaoulé : La Révolte De La Martinique En 1717. Fort de France: Fort de France : Société d'histoire de la Martinique, 1966.

James Pope-Hennessy. The Baths of Absalom : A Footnote to Froude. Ed. Lucian Freud. London: London : Allan Wingate, 1954.

Janet Crane. Martinique. Oxford, England ; Santa Barbara, Calif.: Oxford, England ; Santa Barbara, Calif. : Clio Press, 1995.

Jean Benoist 1929-. Les Martiniquais : Anthropologie d'Une Population Métissée. Paris: Paris : Masson, 1963.

---. Types De Plantations Et Groupes Sociaux à La Martinique. Montréal: Montréal : Centre de Recherches caraïbes, Université Montréal, 1968.

Jean Bernard 1935-. Ces Îles De France : Guadeloupe Et Martinique. Paris: Paris : La Table ronde, 1964.

Jean Crusol. La Martinique, Économie De Plantation : Survol Historique. Ed. Philippe Saint-Cyr and G. (Gilles) Jeannet. Fort-de-France, Martinique: Fort-de-France, Martinique : Centre d'études régionales Antilles-Guyane, 1973.

Jean Marieu. La Canne à Sucre En Martinique. Mémoire de Diplôme d'études supérieures--1966, 1966.

Jean-Louis Besnard. Situation Et Perspectives De La Démographie Martiniquaise. Fort-de-France: Fort-de-France : Centre d'études régionales Antilles-Guyane, 1964.

Jean-Luc Morel. Note Sur Le Rendement Scolaire. Ed. F. Morel and Centre d'études régionales Antilles-Guyane. Fort-de-France: Fort-de-France : Service de l'organisation scolaire, C.E.R.A.G, 1968.

Jean-Pierre Jardel. Bibliographie De La Martinique : Première Partie. Ed. Maurice Nicolas and Claude Relouzat. Fort-de-France: Fort-de-France : Centre d'études régionales Antilles-Guyane, 1969.

John Randolph Whitney. True Story of the Martinique and St. Vincent Calamities : Being a Vivid and Authentic Account of the most Appalling Disaster of Modern Times : Including an Account of the Destruction of Pompeii and Herculaneum and Accounts of all the most Noted Volcanic Eruptions. Ed. Miller, J. Martin (James Martin),b. and John S. Durham. S.l.: S.l. : Robert A. Pitts, 1902.

Joseph Poupon. La Forêt Martiniquaise Hier Et Aujourd'Hui. Ed. France. Office national des forêts. Direction régionale pour la Martinique. Fort-de-France, Martinique?: Fort-de-France, Martinique? : Office national des forêts, Direction régionale pour la Martinique, 1985.

Joseph Zobel. Black Shack Alley = La Rue Cases-Nègres. Washington, D.C.: Washington, D.C. : Three Continents Press, 1980.

"L.P. Liaison." .

Lafcadio Hearn 1850-1904. Contes Des Tropiques. Ed. Marc Logé and Lafcadio Hearn. Paris: Paris : Annuaire international des Français d'outre-mer, 1976.

---. Esquisses Martiniquaises. Ed. Marc Logé and Lafcadio Hearn. Paris: Paris : Annuaire International des Français d'Outre-Mer, 1977.

---. Two Years in the French West Indies. New York: New York : Harper & brothers, 1890.

Library of Congress, Reference Dept. Martinique : A Selected List of References. Ed. Linn R. Blanchard. Washington, D.C: Washington, D.C : Library of Congress, 1942.

Livre d'Or : Sicabam, 1961-83. Ed. Sicabam. Paris: Paris : Editions BRES, 1984.

MacGregor (Archibald Gordon), 1894-,A.G. The Royal Society Expedition to Montserrat, B.W.I : The Volcanic History and Petrology of Montserrat : With Observations on Mt. Pelé, in Martinique. London: London, Cambridge University Press for the Royal Society, 1938.

Malignac, M. La Situation Démographique Des Quatre Départements d'Outre-Mer : Martinique, Guadeloupe, Réunion, Guyane. Paris: Paris : Presses universitaires de France, 1967.

Martinique Nord = the North of Martinique. Boulogne-Billancourt France: Boulogne-Billancourt France. Editions Delroisse, 1970.

La Martinique Pendant La Révolution De 1789 : Édition De Textes. Ed. Archives de la Martinique. Service éducatif. Fort-de-France: Fort-de-France : CNDP, Centre départemental de documentation pédagogique, 1977.

Maurice Burac. L'Économie Rurale Dans Le Centre Nord De La Martinique (Marigot, Sainte-Marie, Gros-Morne Et Trinité) : Contribution à l'Étude De La Crise d'Une Économie De Plantation. Talence: Talence : Ministère de l'éducation nationale, Centre national de la recherche scientifique, Centre d'études de géographie tropicale, 1975.

Maurice Mességué. Ce Soir, Le Diable Viendra Te Prendre : La Sorcellerie Aux Antilles. Ed. André Gayot. Paris: Paris : R. Laffont, 1968.

Michel Leiris 1901-1990. Contacts De Civilisations En Martinique Et En Guadeloupe. Paris: Paris UNESCO, 1955.

Michel S. Laguerre. Urban Poverty in the Caribbean : French Martinique as a Social Laboratory. New York, N.Y.: New York, N.Y. : St. Martin's Press, 1990.

Nicol Smith. Black Martinique, Red Guiana. Indianapolis ; New York: Indianapolis ; New York : Bobbs-Merrill Co, 1942.

Noëlle de, Roo Lemos. Les Dernières Potières De Sainte-Anne, Martinique. Ed. Université de Montréal. Centre de recherches caraïbes. Montréal: Montréal : Centre de recherches caraïbes, Université de Montréal, 1979.

Patrick Chamoiseau. Antan d'Enfance. Paris: Paris : Gallimard, 1993.

---. Creole Folktales. New York: New York : New Press : Distributed by W.W. Norton, 1994.

---. Texaco : Roman. Paris: Paris : Gallimard, 1992.

Pierre-Leval Sainte-Rose. Le Jeune Antillais Face à La Migration : Analyse Du Couple attrait/répulsion Dans Le Phénomène Migratoire. Paris: Paris : Éditions caribbéennes, 1983.

La Politique Agricole Commune : Bilan En Guadeloupe, Martinique, Guyane. Ed. Chambre de commerce et d'industrie de Pointe-à-Pitre. Pointe-à-Pitre: Pointe-à-Pitre : Chambre de commerce et d'industrie de Pointe-à-Pitre, 1987.

Le Propagateur [Microform].

Raoul d' Harcourt. Collections Archéologiques Martiniquaises De Musée De l'Homme. Paris: Paris : Au siège de la Société, 1952.

Raymond Massé. Les Adventistes Du Septième Jour Aux Antilles Françaises : Anthropologie d'Une Espérance Millénariste. Fonds St. Jacques: Fonds St. Jacques : Centre de recherches caraïbes, Université de Montréal, 1978.

René Acheen. Le Problème De l'Immigration Indienne Devant l'Opinion Martiniquaise Dans Le Années 1882-1885. Ed. Haraldur Sigurdsson and L. Crusol. Fort-de-France, Martinique: Fort-de-France, Martinique : Centre d'études régionales Antilles-Guyane, 1972.

---. Le Problème De l'Immigration Indienne Devant l'Opinion Martiniquaise Dans Le Années 1882-1885. Ed. Haraldur Sigurdsson and L. Crusol. Fort-de-France, Martinique: Fort-de-France, Martinique : Centre d'études régionales Antilles-Guyane, 1972.

La Revue Française Présente Les Départements Français d'Amérique : Guadeloupe, Guyane, Martinique. Paris : La Revue française de l'élite européene, 1957.

Roland Jouandet-Bernadat 1936-. Note Sur Les Revenus En Martinique. Fort-de-France: Fort-de-France : Centre d'études régionales Antilles-Guyane, 1964.

Société française d'histoire naturelle,des Antilles. Bulletin. (1952).

Stéphanie Tesson. La Paix!. Ed. Aristophanes. Paris: Paris : Avant-scène théâtre, 2002.

Tourisme Et Développement En Martinique : Tome II. Fort-de-France: Fort-de-France. Centre d'etude régionales Antilles-Guyane, 1969.

Les Touristes En Martinique : Étude Collective. Ed. François Gresle and Jean-Luc Morel. Fort-de-France, MQ.: Fort-de-France, MQ. Centre dé̓tudes régionales Antilles-Guyane, 1969.

Victor Sablé. La Transformation Des Isles d'Amérique En Départements Français. Paris: Paris, Éditions Larose, 1955.

William A. Garesché. Complete Story of the Martinique and St. Vincent Horrors. Chicago, Ill.: Chicago, Ill. : L.G. Stahl, 1902.