Skip to main content

NYU Libraries logo

Research Institute for the Study of Man (RISM): RISM: Brazil

The Collections of RISM at New York University

A Note on Finding RISM Materials in Bobst Library

This page provides a list of RISM books and serials on Brazil held in the Bobst Library circulating collections. It is provided to give the researcher an impression of the range of materials offered in the RISM collections at NYU Libraries. To find a particular item held in the Bobst collections, however, a researcher is best to search the Libraries' online catalog, BobCat. If you are looking for materials related to a particular country, searching BobCat by subject is the most effective way to identify all relevant materials held by the NYU Libraries, both those drawn from the RISM collections and those previously owned by the Libraries or purchased subsequent to the arrival of the RISM collections.

RISM Materials on Brazil

Adhemar Vidal. Lendas e Superstiçōes : Contos Populares Brasileiros. Rio de Janeiro: Rio de Janeiro : Emprêsa Gráfica "O Cruzeiro", 1950.

The African Presence in the Art of the Americas. Ed. Ivan Van Sertima and David Boxer. New Brunswick, N.J.: New Brunswick, N.J. : Transaction Periodicals Consortium, 1981.

"Afro-Asia." Afro-Ásia (1965).

Aging in Cross-Cultural Perspective : Africa and the Americas. Ed. Enid Gort. New York: New York : Phelps-Stokes Fund, 1988.

Arthur Ramos 1903-1949. The Negro in Brazil. Philadelphia: Philadelphia : Porcupine Press, 1980.

Arthur Theodore Mosher 1910-. Case Study of the Agricultural Program of ACAR in Brazil. Washington: Washington, National Planning Association, 1955.

Brazil. Constitution of the United States of Brazil, 1946. Ed. Pan American Union. General Legal Division. Washington: Washington : Pan American Union, 1958.

Burns, E. A Documentary History of Brazil,. New York: New York, Knopf, 1966.

Carybé, 1911-. As Sete Portas Da Bahia. São Paulo: São Paulo : Martins, 1962.

Charles Wagley 1913-. Race and Class in Rural Brazil. New York: New York, Russell & Russell, 1952.

---. Tapirapé Social and Culture Change, 1940-1953. Ed. International Congress of Americanists. São Paulo: São Paulo : International Congress of Americanists, 1955.

---. Uma Pesquisa Sobre a Vida Social no Estado Da Bahia, with English Text. Ed. Thales de Azevedo, Luiz de Aguiar Costa Pinto, and Columbia University. Dept. of Anthropology. Bahia, Brasil: Bahia, Brasil : Secretaria de Educação e Saúde, 1950.

Charles Waterton 1782-1865. Wanderings in South America, the North-West of the United States and the Antilles in the Years 1812, 1816, 1820, and 1824. London: London : Hutchinson, 1906.

Congresso Brasileiro de Folclore (1st : 1951 : Rio,de Janeiro. Anais, Rio De Janeiro, De 22 a 31 De Agôsto De 1951. II Volume. Ed. Instituto Brasileiro de Educação,Ciência e Cultura and Unesco. Rio de Janeiro: Rio de Janeiro Ministério das Relações Exteriores, Serviço de Publicações, 1953.

Darcy Azambuja 1903-1970. Principais Lendas Folclóricas do Rio Grande do Sul. Ed. Comissão Gaúcha de Folclore (Porto Alegre,Brazil). Rio de Janeiro: Rio de Janeiro : Comissão Nacional de Folclore, 1958.

Darwin Brandão. A Cozinha Baiana. Rio de Janeiro: Rio de Janeiro, Editôra Letras e Artes, 1965.

Dinorath do Valle. Pau Brasil : Romance. La Habana, Cuba: La Habana, Cuba : Casa de las Américas, 1983.

Dona Flor e Seus Dois Maridos [Videorecording] = Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands. Anonymous Prod. Barreto Bruno, Jorge Amado, Luiz Carlos Barreto, et al. New York, N.Y. : Fox/Lorber Home Video, Orion Home Video, 1994.

Edison Carneiro. A Cidade do Salvador (1549) : Uma Reconstituição Histórica. Rio de Janeiro: Rio de Janeiro : Organização Simões, 1954.

---. Folklore in Brazil. Rio de Janeiro: Rio de Janeiro : Ministry of Education and Culture of Brazil, Companha de Defesa do Folclore Brasileiro, 1963.

---. A Insurreição Praieira, 1848-49. Rio de Janeiro: Rio de Janeiro : Conquista, 1960.

---. Ladinos e Crioulos : Estudos Sôbre o Negro no Brasil. Rio de Janeiro: Rio de Janeiro : Civilizaç~ao Brasileira, 1964.

---. A Linguagem Popular Da Bahia. Rio de Janeiro: Rio de Janeiro : s.n, 1951.

Eduardo Campos 1923-. Folclore do Nordeste. Rio de Janeiro: Rio de Janeiro : Edições O Cruzeiro, 1960.

---. Medicina Popular : (Superstições, Crendices e Meizinhas). Rio de Janeiro: Rio de Janeiro : Livraria-Editôra da Casa do Estudante do Brazil, 1955.

Eduardo Enéas Galvão. Santos e Visagens : Um Estudo Da Vida Religiosa De itá; Amazonas. São Paulo: São Paulo : Companhia Editôra Nacional, 1955.

Edwin Bucher Williams 1891-1975. First Brazilian Grammar : A Course in Beginner's Portuguese. New York: New York : Appleton-Century-Crofts, 1944.

Egon Schaden. Problemas Fundamentais e Estado Atual Das Pesquisas Sobre Os Índios do Brasil. México, D.F.: México, D.F. : Instituto Indigenista Interamericano, 1955.

Emílio Willems. O Problema Rural Brasileiro do Ponto De Vista Antropológico. São Paulo: São Paulo : Secretaria da Agricultura, Indústria e Comércio do estado de São Paulo, 1944.

---. Uma Vila Brasileira : Tradição e Transição. São Paulo: São Paulo : Difusão Européia do Livro, 1961.

Estórias e Lendas Dos Índios. Ed. Herbert Baldus and J. Lanzellotti. São Paulo: São Paulo : Iracema, 1997.

Euclides da Cunha 1866-1909. Rebellion in the Backlands. Ed. Samuel Putnam. Chicago, Ill.: Chicago, Ill. : University of Chicago Press, 1944.

Fausto Teixeira. Medicina Popular Mineira. Rio de Janeiro: Rio de Janeiro : Organização Simões, 1954.

Gordon Harper 1942-. The Children of Hipólito : A Study in Brazilian Pentecostalism., 1963.

Hanns Albert Steger. Revolutionäre Hintergründe Des Kreolischen Synkretismus : Soziale Aspekte Der Geheimen Religionsumwälzung Im Kolonialen Und Nachkolonialen Afro-Amerika. Köln: Köln : Westdeutscher, 1970.

Harriett Stoutjesdijk. About Spirits and Macumba. Ed. George W. Glaser. s.l: s.l. s.n, 1960.

Harry William Hutchinson 1922-. Field Guide to Brazil. Washington: Washington, National Academy of Sciences-National Research Council, 1960.

Hildebrando de Lima 1904-. Pequeno Dicionario Brasileiro Da Lingua Portuguesa. Ed. Antenor Nascentes, et al. Rio de Janeiro-S~ao Paulo: Rio de Janeiro-S~ao Paulo, Civilizaç~ao brasileira s/a, 1943.

Irineu Pinheiro. Efemérides do Cariri. Fortaleza: Fortaleza : Imprensa Universitária do Ceará, 1963.

Jacques Lambert. Os Dois Brasís. Ed. Instituto Nacional de Estudos Pedagógicos (Brazil). Rio de Janeiro: Rio de Janeiro : INEP, Ministério da Educação e Cultura, 1959.

Jaime Lopes Dias 1890-. No Brasil Dos Meus Sonhos. Lisboa: Lisboa : Torres & Cta, 1956.

Janice H. Hopper. Indians of Brazil in the Twentieth Century. Ed. Gertrude Evelyn Dole. Washington, D.C.: Washington, D.C. : Institute for Cross-Cultural Research, 1967.

Jorge Amado 1912-2001. Bahia De Todos Os Santos : Guia Das Ruas e Dos Mistérios Da Cidade do Salvador. São Paulo: São Paulo : Martins, 1971.

José de, Figueiredo Filho. O Folclore no Cariri. Fortaleza: Fortaleza : Imprensa Universitária do Ceará, 1962.

José Maria Bello 1880-1959. A History of Modern Brazil, 1889-1964. Ed. James L. (James Lumpkin) Taylor and Rollie E. Poppino. Stanford, Calif.: Stanford, Calif. : Stanford University Press, 1966.

José Ramos Tinhorão. Música Popular : Um Tema Em Debate. São Paulo, SP, Brasil: São Paulo, SP, Brasil : Editora 34, 1997.

Kalervo Oberg 1901-1973. Indian Tribes of Northern Mato Grosso, Brazil. Ed. Marshall Thornton Newman. Washington, D.C.: Washington, D.C. : U.S. G.P.O, 1953.

Katarina Real. The Brazilian Urban "Carnaval" : A Discussion of its Origins, Nature, and Ethnological Significance. Thesis (M.A.)--University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, 1960, 1960.

---. O Folclore no Carnaval do Recife. Rio de Janeiro: Rio de Janeiro : Ministério de Educação e Cultura, Campanha de Defesa do Folclore Brasileiro, 1967.

Leslie Bethell. The Abolition of the Brazilian Slave Trade : Britain, Brazil and the Slave Trade Question, 1807-1869. Cambridge Eng.: Cambridge Eng. : University Press, 1970.

Luís, da C. Dicionário do Folclore Brasileiro. Rio de Janeiro: Rio de Janeiro, Instituto Nacional do Livro, Ministério da Educação e Cultura, 1962.

Manuel Diégues Júnior. Regiões Culturais do Brasil. Rio de Janeiro; Rio de Janeiro: Rio de Janeiro : Centro Brasileiro de Pesquisas Educacionais, INEP, Ministéro da Educação e Cultura, 1960.

Mário de Andrade 1893-1945. Macunaíma : O Héroi Sem Nenhum Caráter. Ed. Telê Porto Ancona Lopez. Rio de Janeiro: Rio de Janeiro : Livros Técnicos e Cientificos, 1978.

Mário Vasconcellos da, Veiga Cabral. Compendio De Historia do Brasil : Adoptado no Collegio Pedro II, Collegios Militares, Escolas Normaes, e Em Muitos Outros Estabelecimentos De Ensino Secundario /Mario Da Veiga Cabral. Rio de Janeiro: Rio de Janeiro : Jacintho, 1939.

Nancy Fried Foster. Contexts of Guianan Amerindian Identity. Thesis (Ph. D.)--Columbia University, 1990, 1990.

Nelson Werneck Sodré 1911-. O Que Se Deve Ler Para Conhecer o Brasil. Rio de Janeiro, D.F.: Rio de Janeiro, D.F. : Centro Brasileiro de Pesquisas Educacionais, INEP, Ministério da Educação e Cultura, 1960.

Octavio, da Costa. The Negro in Northern Brazil : A Study in Acculturation. New York: New York : J.J. Augustin, 1948.

Oswaldo Valpassos. Nordeste Pitoresco. Rio de Janeiro: Rio de Janeiro : Livraria São José, 1960.

"Pequeno Guia Das Igrejas Da Bahia." (1949).

"Revista Brasileira De Folclore." (1976).

Richard M. Morse (Richard McGee), 1922-, ed. The Bandeirantes; the Historical Role of the Brazilian Pathfinders. New York: New York, Knopf, 1965.

Robert Francis Murphy 1924-. The Trumaí Indians of Central Brazil. Ed. Buell H. (Buell Halvor) Quain. Locust Valley, N. Y.: Locust Valley, N. Y. : J. J. Augustin, 1955.

Robert M. Levine. Brazil : Field Research Guide in the Social Sciences. Ed. Columbia University. Institute of Latin American Studies. New York: New York : Institute of Latin American Studies, Columbia University, 1966.

Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials, Inc Meeting 1990 : Rio,de Janeiro. Continuity and Change in Brazil and the Southern Cone : Research Trends and Library Collections for the Year 2000 = Continuidade e Mudanças no Brasil e no Cone Sul : Tendências De Pesquisa e Acervos Bibliográficos Para o Ano 2000 : Papers of the Thirty-Fifth Annual Meeting of the Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials, Hotel Meridien Copacabana, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil, June 3-8, 1990. Ed. Ann Hartness, Fundação Getúlio Vargas, and Library of Congress. Library of Congress Office,Rio de Janeiro. Albuquerque, N.M.: Albuquerque, N.M. : SALALM Secretariat, General Library, University of New Mexico, 1992.

Stanley Jeeves. Journey to the Lost World. London: London : University of London Press, 1965.

Thales de Azevedo. Gaúchos : A Fisionomia Social do Rio Grande do Sul. Salvador?: Salvador? : Aguiar & Souza, 1958.

Walter Mischel. Proposal for a Socio-Psychological Study of Afro-American Cults. Ed. Frances Mischel., 1958.