Research Guides: Television: Search Articles

Popular Databases

EBSCO Discovery Service This link opens in a new window
EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) encompasses articles in databases across many disciplines. Users can locate peer reviewed articles, videos, audio files, images, and more from a range of subjects.

Full download of DRM-protected ebooks requires EBSCO account registration and Adobe Digital Editions.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing and produced for a broad target audience, from film scholars to general viewers. Subject coverage includes: film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Dates of coverage: 1914 to present.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts academic and trade journals in communications and mass media. Full-text is included for some titles. Conference proceedings are also available, including those of the International Communication Association.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is a large, multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Performing Arts Periodicals Database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 210 international journals in the performing arts dating from 1864 to the near present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to an archive of important scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Please note that for many titles, the most current issues are not available through Jstor.
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and Theses Global contains indexes, dissertations and some theses. Full-text is available for many dissertations and theses, including those from NYU.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Online biographical reference database in the fields of literature, science, business, entertainment, politics, sports, history, current events and the arts.Biographical information on over one million people throughout history, around the world.
MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides about 2 million records for books, book chapters, and journal articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Provides online, full-text access to many of those articles. Covers items published from around 1920 to the present. NOT INCLUDED: Reviews of literary and scholarly works.
Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search the archives of major U.S. and African American Newspapers. Includes: Atlanta Constitution (1868 - 1942), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1986), Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 1995), Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1986), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), The Chicago Defender (1910 - 1975), The New York Times (1851 - 2005), The New York Tribune (1841-1922), The New York Tribune (1900 - 1910), San Francisco Chronical (1865-1922), The Wall Street Journal (1889 - 1991), and The Washington Post (1877 - 1992).
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (Formerly LexisNexis Academic Universe) provides access to full-text newspapers (U.S. and some international), news wires, transcripts, and trade journals.
Please clear your browser's cache and cookies before attempting to access this resource.
Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Business Abstracts with Full Text provides access to popular, scholarly, and trade publications. The content includes articles, reviews, interviews, biographies, corporate profiles, and professional reports. Dates of coverage: 1982 to present.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.

Customize your "Scholar Preferences" for automatic linking to NYU's full text. Enter "New York University Libraries - Get at NYU" in the Library Links box; save your preferences.

Databases that view television thru the lens of the historical databases

Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages. Publication dates of coverage: 1955 to present.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages. Publication dates of coverage: 1964 to present.
Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search the archives of major U.S. and African American Newspapers. Includes: Atlanta Constitution (1868 - 1942), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1986), Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 1995), Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1986), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), The Chicago Defender (1910 - 1975), The New York Times (1851 - 2005), The New York Tribune (1841-1922), The New York Tribune (1900 - 1910), San Francisco Chronical (1865-1922), The Wall Street Journal (1889 - 1991), and The Washington Post (1877 - 1992).

Cross Disciplinary Searching

Education Source with ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education Source with ERIC provides access to research on all levels of education from early childhood to adult education. The content includes peer reviewed journal articles, ebooks, book reviews, dissertations, conference papers and policy reports on all topics in the realm of education.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Coverage is international. Date coverage: 1975 to present.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Dates of coverage: 1970 to present.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. Provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch, with over 300,000 full-text articles dating from 1959-1989
Religion Database (ATLA) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database designed to support religious and theological scholarship. The file contains citations from international titles and 13,000 multi-author works in and related to the field of religion. Dates of coverage: 1949 to the present.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Contains indexing and abstracts for gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender core journals.Also includes deep backfiles for key publications - many back to the first published issue. Examples of publications indexed back to their inaugural issues include The Advocate (1967), Journal of Homosexuality (1974) and Harvard Gay and Lesbian Review (1994).
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts represents the core database for sociological scholarship, covering literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It indexes scholarly journals, dissertations and theses, books, and conference papers and proceedings, and is international in scope.
General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
General Science Full Text is a interdisciplinary science journal article index that also provides some full text journal articles within the database. Subjects covered include astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, physics, and zoology.
PsycNET (with PsycINFO) This link opens in a new window
APA PsycNET is an integrated collection of databases from the American Psychological Association (APA), including the following: PsycINFO, PsycBOOKS, PsycTESTS, PsycTHERAPY, PsycARTICLES, and PsycEXTRA.

PsycINFO, the most popular database in PsycNET, is a bibliographic index covering core literature in the psychological and behavioral sciences and their related disciplines. PsycBOOKS includes online versions of the APA Handbooks in Psychology Series, as well as other ebooks and online encyclopedias published by APA. PsycTESTS is a source of structured information about psychological tests and measures as well as a repository for the full text of select instruments. PsycTHERAPY provides access to streaming psychotherapy demonstration videos.

Altogether, PsycNET provides information about and access to journal articles, books and ebooks, dissertations, conference presentations, tests and measures, videos, gray literature, and many other other publication types in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
To search only a specific database (e.g., PsycINFO) within the PsycNET interface, use the "Select Databases" features at the top of the PsycNET landing page and check (or uncheck) the database(s) that apply.

New Review of Film & Television Studies

New review of film and television studies
New Review of Film and Television Studies publishes peer-reviewed research on the theory and history of expressive screen culture.