This guide is intended to help people doing research in the History of the United States of America, defined broadly. It is not intended to be comprehensive. The focus is on topics of research in History Department.
Provides over 14,000 primary source titles based on Joseph Sabin's bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana. Materials describe every aspect of life in the Western Hemisphere from 1500 to the 1890s. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. Searchable in a variety of ways, including: author, title, year of publication, and subject.
Sanborn Maps Geo Edition: States Package supplies access to thousands of large-scale maps of American towns and cities, searchable by address and GPS coordinates. Sanborn fire insurance maps chart the growth and development of thousands of America towns and cities across a century. The maps also examine temporal changes with tools that layer maps from different years on top of each other and over modern street, satellite, and hybrid layers via a Google map interface.
The Screen Studies Collection is a comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside expansive filmographies. This collection includes the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database, the American Film Institute, the British Film Institute, and the AFI Catalog and Film Index International.
Service Newspapers of World War Two is a digital resource that reveals the story of war as told by the newspapers that brought information, entertainment and camaraderie to the forces at home and overseas. Explore over 200 titles from key nations across the globe that took part in the world-changing conflict.
17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers contains the digitized materials (not just newspapers) collected by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) and held in the British Library. A useful source for find information about the United Kingdom and the wider world in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries.The database's advanced search offers searching publications by title, place, language, section, and date. The Publications Search link includes searching by format, including (among others) books, broadsides, forms, newspapers, and pamphlets.
17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection features London newspapers and pamphlets gathered by antiquarian and printer John Nichols. This collection, sourced from the Bodleian Library, spans the years 1672 to 1737 and complements the titles and issues found in 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.
The Sex and Sexuality collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors throughout the twentieth century. Investigate the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading American sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and the public consciousness.
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics and data visualization program providing data variables. Users have access to demographics, marketing data, consumer behavior (purchasing and product usage data), market segments, health, and business points for States, Congressional Districts, Counties, Cities/Places, ZIP Codes, Census Tracts and Block Groups. Users can also export data, maps, reports and shapefiles for use outside of SimplyAnalytics. Now includes Nielsen Scarborough Data Module.
Users are not required to log-in with a user name and password; however, in order to save your work, it is recommended that you create your own user account. SimplyMap user accounts are still functional in the SimplyAnalytics interface.
This full text resource consists of diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. With 150,000 pages of material at completion, this searchable collection is a resource for students and scholars researching this period in American history, culture, and politics.
60 Minutes: 1997-2014 contains streaming video episodes from the 60 Minutes CBS news broadcast show. Users can explore content by keyword, place, historical event, and time period, and can create compilations of clips to embed in other multimedia projects.
Users must create an account with Alexander Street Press to publish embedded clips.
Bringing together primary source documents from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world, this resource allows students and researchers to explore and compare unique material relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice.In addition to the primary source documents there are secondary sources for research and teaching; including an interactive map, scholarly essays, tutorials, a visual sources gallery, chronology and bibliography.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law brings together essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. The cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery.
A result of Gale's partnership to create searchable archives of the Smithsonian's vast collections, this resource combines rare 19th and 20th century archival materials on topics such as the evolving modes of flight, World's Fairs, and trade literature, with recent and backfile issues of Smithsonian Magazine and Air & Space Magazine. This comprehensive resource presents unique insight into history, science, nature, the arts, innovation, technology, and world culture.
Social Explorer contains access to U.S. Census data dating back to 1790. Users can create maps and embed them as objects or download static images.
To access Social Explorer, create a user account after signing in to NYU's SSO. If you have questions about authenticating your NYU Social Explorer account from off-campus, please contact Data Services.
Social Theory contains the full text of some of the most influential writing in social, political, and economic thought and theory from the eighteenth century to the present day. Included in the content are important works by such theorists as Auguste Comte, Max Weber, Theodor Adorno, Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Alexis de Tocqueville, Karl Marx, Emile Durkheim, Jürgen Habermas, Frederick Engels, and Michel Foucault, among many others.
Sociological Abstracts represents the core database for sociological scholarship, covering literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It indexes scholarly journals, dissertations and theses, books, and conference papers and proceedings, and is international in scope.
This category consists of five modules: Slavery and the Law; two modules of Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records; a module on the Civil War entitled "Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army"; and Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War. Slavery and the Law features petitions on race, slavery, and free blacks that were submitted to state legislatures and county courthouses between 1775 and 1867. Southern Plantation Records document the far-reaching impact of plantations on both the American South and the nation. Plantation records are both business records and personal papers because the plantation was both the business and the home for plantation owners. The Confederate Military Manuscripts module brings together unique collections that are being digitized for the first time. Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War features correspondence of the U.S. Army's Office of Civil Affairs.
NYU Libraries subscribe to following modules:
- Slavery and the Law (1775-1867)
- Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records, Part 1
- Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantation Records, Part 2
- Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army (1854-1870)
- Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War (1865-1877)
- Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries (1700-1896)
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. The Census Bureau ceased production of the Statistical Abstract in 2012; newer versions are compiled and distributed by ProQuest. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations. For historical Statistical Abstracts, see Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2012).
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published by the Census Bureau from 1878-2012, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations. For newer Statistical Abstracts, see Proquest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (2013-present).
Supreme Court Insight is a complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per decision, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs. Content associated with each case is compiled on a dynamic page organized to facilitate understanding of the judicial process, and is also retrievable on a document by document basis.
The Text Creation Partnership Collection provides full-text access to subsets of the texts contained in three large historical text collections: Early English Books Online, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, and Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans. Texts in the TCP subsets have been enhanced by additional textual mark-up to enable searching options more sophisticated than what is possible in the original databases.
Trade Catalogues and the American Home - Explore domestic consumerism, life and leisure in America between 1850-1950 with Trade Catalogues and the American Home. This resource presents a wealth of highly illustrated primary source documents that highlight commercial tastes and consumer trends, and provide a valuable visual record for a breadth of interdisciplinary study.
Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC), a research center at Syracuse University, has developed a web-based data warehouse/data mining application that makes it possible to produce useful information from previously inaccessible data. The TRACFed data warehouse includes among its many offerings transactional data from the US Federal government concerning its enforcement and prosecution activities, staffing, federal expenditures, and more. It focuses on the Department of Homeland Security, FBI, IRS, DEA and the bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms.
Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History provides primary source material for the study of travel and life writing. It contains travel diaries and supporting correspondence written by American women of all ages, travelling for many different reasons, from all walks of life, describing their journeys across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. This resource has wide ranging interdisciplinary appeal, offering first-hand accounts of major historical events as reported by eye witnesses, detailing key interests and themes in women’s lives, providing snapshots of cities, cultures and customs, and charting the rise of modern tourism and the travel industry.
The trench journals and unit magazines of the First World War are a source of information on the common serviceman and woman’s experience of the war. These magazines were written by and for every type of unit from every combatant nation. As such they contain the hitherto unheard voices of hundreds of thousands of men and women writing from every facet of the conflict.
Twentieth-Century Drama, Second Edition contains a collection of published plays from throughout the English-speaking world, covering the history of modern drama from the 1890s to the present day, alongside unpublished works by major writers and Pulitzer Prize winners.
Contains 1,122 plays by 170 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Provides full-text access to the Parliamentary Papers. They are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed. Dates of coverage: 1688 to the present.
The purpose of this unique online collection is to provide students and researchers with the declassified documentary record about the successes and failures of the U.S. intelligence community in the Far East during the Cold War (1945-1991). Particular emphasis is given to America’s principal antagonists in Asia during the Cold War era: the People’s Republic of China, North Korea and North Vietnam. However, countries such as Japan, Taiwan, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines, Malaysia, Singapore and Australia are covered as well.
U.S. Intelligence on Europe, 1945-1995 is a collection of over 4,000 formerly classified U.S. government documents provides a comprehensive survey of the U.S. intelligence community’s activities in Europe, including Eastern Europe, Turkey and Cyprus, covering the time period from the end of World War II to the fall of the Iron Curtain and beyond.
This comprehensive document set sheds light on the U.S. intelligence community’s spying and analytic efforts in the Middle East and North Africa. It covers the time period from the end of World War II to the present day, up until the 2002-2003 Iraqi Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) assessments, the Global War on Terror, the Iraq War, and Iran’s nuclear program.
U.S. Political Stats is a data visualization and research tool designed to provide information on Congress, the Supreme Court, and the Presidency. Users can draw insights and comparisons between interest group scores and election returns, campaign contributions, floor votes and demographics, and more. Data can be exported in tabular format.
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels contains digitized images of comic books and graphic novels from the 1960’s to the works of modern sequential artists. The collection also contains materials about comics, including interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from The Comics Journal and other secondary sources.
The Understanding Hate in America database collection includes papers promoting as well as those opposing white nationalism. It brings together local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers from across the U.S. It also includes key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by ethnic, Catholic, and Jewish organizations.
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is a searchable collection of the individual network evening news broadcasts from ABC, NBC, and CBS from 1968-present, CNN from 1995-present, and Fox from 2004-present. Broadcasts from CNN and NBC can be streamed; broadcasts from ABC, CBS, and Fox can be requested as DVD duplications or compilations.
Fees are charged for DVD duplication clips from ABC, CBS, or FOX News. Follow this link for more information on the loan process for this content and any associated fees: DVD compilation and duplication fees
Provides online access to the Virginia Company Archives, which began as a business archive, consisting of papers of Nicholas Ferrar (d.1620) and those of the Virginia Company of London and its subordinate, the Somer Islands Company. Few of old Nicholas's papers survive, but there are over five hundred items from the days of the Virginia Company.
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from 1892 to the current month. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been indexed enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.
This full text resource consists of primary materials from 1840 to the present. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. history generally at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 91 document projects and archives with more than 3,600 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and more than 2,060 primary authors. The scholar's edition also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration.
The Youth and Popular Culture Magazine Archive database provides access to periodicals from 1940s-present, highlighting topics and trends of youth culture like fashion, rock and roll, sexuality and dating, as well as youth portrayal in the media. At completion, this collection will have 200,000 pages from periodicals published in the United States, United Kingdom, and Canada. Most of the periodicals within the collection are difficult to find and no longer published, such as Clarity Magazine from the 1940s and Petticoat from the 1960s, providing insight to the various content that influenced youth culture throughout the decades.