Research Guides: Journalism: What Do I Do When I Graduate?

Can I access the NYU resources when I graduate?

Unfortunately, once you graduate from NYU, you will lose access to most of our online resources. We have licensing agreements with each of these that prohibit us from allowing non-current NYU affiliates to access the resources.

But the good news is that as an NYU alumni, you will have access to a select group of online resources, via the Alumni e-library.

Access to NYU Resources Post-Graduation

Alumni E-Library
As an alumni, you have access to a select group of databases including: ProQuest Research Library, ABI-Inform (business), ProQuest Newspapers, and ProQuest Health Management. You can access these resources from offsite.
Become a Friend of the Library
If you would like complete access to our online resources, you'll need to become a Friend of the Library. While this does not entitle you to off-site access, being a Friend allows you access to Bobst Library. You can then access resources on-site.

Freely available research article databases

Google Scholar
Searches for articles from scholarly journals. Provides citation information.
ERIC (Education)
This is *the* education database. Sponsored by the US Dept of Education, Institute for Education Sciences.
PubMed
Great for medical topics. A service of the US National Medical Library and the National Institutes of Health.

arXiv This link opens in a new window
ArXiv is an open access repository of e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
SocArXiv This link opens in a new window
SocArXiv is an open-access archive of preprint papers in the social and behavioral sciences. Papers on SocArXiv are permanently available and free to the public.
PsyArXiv This link opens in a new window
PsyArXiv is an open-access, preprint digital archive dedicated to psychological science that gives the public free, first-hand access to new science.

WorldCat.Org
Search the holdings of libraries in the U.S. and around the world!

New York Public Library

New York Public Library provides access to a number of article databases. Some can be accessed offsite. In order to access databases from offsite, you'll need an NYPL Library Card.