It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Health Data & Statistics
Guide to locating sources of numerical data and health statistics
Includes NYC Community Health Survey Atlas: More than 40 multi-colored, thematic New York City maps showing the neighborhood distribution of a wide variety of health indicators, from Health Care Access to Weight and Nutrition.
This website is the Census Bureau's primary vehicle for distributing the 2000 Census of Population and Housing, 1997 Economic Census, and American Community Survey. Currently includes 1990 Census Quick and Detailed Tables, American Community Survey.
BRFSS is the world’s largest, on-going telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the United States yearly since 1984. Currently, data are collected monthly in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Guam.
Atlas provides interactive maps, graphs, tables, and figures showing geographic patterns and time trends of HIV, AIDS, chlamydia, gonorrhea, primary and secondary syphilis, TB, and viral hepatitis surveillance data.
Summary information on many issues surrounding children and children’s health in the United States. Choose “data source descriptions” for more information about and links to original data. Includes interactive tools, surveys, publications, vital statistics and more.
Access site for public data on the health and health-related services for children, youth, and families in the United States. Provides hands-on access to national, state, and regional data findings as well as technical assistance in the collection and use of this data.
The GSS contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest including general health, mental health, and attitudes and opinions about health and healthcare. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings.
On-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. For 3 decades, Healthy People has established benchmarks and monitored progress over time in order to:
-Encourage collaborations across communities and sectors.
-Empower individuals toward making informed health decisions.
-Measure the impact of prevention activities.
Created by the Roper Center at Cornell University, the Health Poll database covers eighty years of national polling. Searchable questions and results, demographic crosstabs, and trends are available on every topic related to health, from social determinants and influences on health to insurance, costs and health-care utilization.
(All visitors receive up to 10 free question views per month. Your views are counted when you open a question to reveal responses.)
HSR Information Central is not an index of all health services resources on the Web. Rather, it contains selective links representing a sample of available information. Items are selected for their quality, authority of authorship, uniqueness, and appropriateness.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations
Pilot effort has been conducted for and with support from four cities: Flint, Michigan; Kansas City, Kansas; Providence, Rhode Island; and Waco, Texas. By presenting the evidence necessary to understand population health status and its actionable determinants and allowing ready comparisons across cities, this tool is designed to help city officials and key community and other stakeholders to drive improvements in population health.
Searchable database of information about research datasets, instruments/indices and software) includes clinical records, discharge summaries, claims records, epidemiological surveys, health/ behavioral/ social surveys, disease registries, birth registries, and data about practitioners, programs, and facilities.
The Census Bureau collects health insurance data using three national surveys: the Current Population Survey's Annual Social and Economic Supplement (CPS ASEC), the American Community Survey (ACS) and the Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP).
o Administration for Children & families o Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality o Maternal and Child Health Bureau o National Institute of Child Health & Human Development o National Institute of Mental Health o Substance Abuse
Data on refugees, permanent residents, and naturalized citizens. Some information is presented in PDF report format, but any links labeled “data” provide access to Excel spreadsheets of data. Click the "data and statistics link" to access US immigration maps.
NLS are a set of surveys designed to gather information at multiple points in time on the labor market activities and other significant life events of several groups of men and women and include data on adolescent sexual behavior and health.
OECD iLibrary is the online portal for the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development. The iLibrary includes book collections, policy reports, statistical abstracts, and the OECD.Stat tool, with which users can create custom extracts from the OECD data warehouse.
Data cover health systems, disease prevention, reproductive health, nutrition, and population dynamics. Data are from the United Nations Population Division, World Health Organization, United Nations Children's Fund, the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS, and various other sources.
WDI Online is the premiere data source on the global economy. It contains statistical data for over 800 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2007 for 227 economies. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Data selection screens are intuitive and easy to use. Results can be scaled, charted, and mapped.
USAID-sponsored International surveys in developing countries; includes health questionnaire data, biomarkers, and geographic information mainly focused on maternal, newborn, child and adolescent health.
ReferenceUSA contains detailed information on millions US businesses, including historical, closed, and new businesses, along with a standard white pages for access to data on millions of US residents, including new movers and new homeowners.
ReferenceUSA allows users to create personal accounts for saving searches and search criteria.
SimplyAnalytics is a mapping, analytics and data visualization program providing access to demographics, consumer behavior, market segments, Nielsen Scarborough Data, and business points for various geographic levels in the US.
Users are not required to log-in with a user name and password; however, in order to save your work, it is recommended that you create your own user account. SimplyMap user accounts are still functional in the SimplyAnalytics interface.
Social Explorer contains access to U.S. Census data dating back to 1790. Users can create maps and embed them as objects or download static images.
To access Social Explorer, create a user account after signing in to NYU's SSO. If you have questions about authenticating your NYU Social Explorer account from off-campus, please contact Data Services.