Skip to main content

NYU Libraries logo

Labor History: Directories

A guide to U.S. labor history resources in NYU's Tamiment Library and beyond.

New York State Directories

Directory of Labor Organizations and Employee Organizations in New York State. New York: State of New York, Dept. of Labor, 1987-1988.

 

Directory of Labor Organizations in New York State. Albany: Division of Research and Statistics, New York State Dept. of Labor, 1950-1971; followed by Directory of Employee Organizations in New York State. New York: Division of Research and Statistics, State of New York, Dept. of Labor, 1976-1982; and Directory of Labor Unions and Employee Organizations in New York State. New York: State of New York, Dept. of Labor, 1984- . Electronic versions of the 1996, 1998-1999, and 2001-2002 editions (scanned image TIFF format) are available via New York State Library's website.

Gale Directory Library

Search across a range of directories. Includes: Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers; Encyclopedia of American Religions; Encyclopedia of Associations - International Organizations; Encyclopedia of Associations - National Organizations of the U.S.; Encyclopedia of Associations - Regional, State and Local Organizations of the U.S.;Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources; Encyclopedia of Governmental Advisory Organizations; Gale Directory of Databases; Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media; Government Research Directory; Information Industry Directory;International Research Centers Directory; Law and Legal Information Directory; Market Share Reporter; National Faculty Directory; Publishers Directory; Research Centers Directory; Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies.

Also see Databases by Subject: Directories to find other online sources.

National and International Directories

Directory of Labor Unions in the United States, 1947-1953; followed by Directory of National and International Labor Unions in the United States, 1955-1970; and then Directory of National Unions and Employee Associations, 1971-1979. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Published by the Department of Labor for several decades, these directories provide easy access to a wealth of information on unions and employee associations. The last directory, published in 1980, also has historical data on union and association membership by state. Divided into five sections: structure; national unions, professional and employee associations; annual developments; union and association membership; and functions and activities. Indexes of organizations, officers, and officials are also provided. Continued by the Directory of U.S. Labor Organizations. 

Directory of U.S. Labor Organizations. Washington, D.C.: Bureau of National Affairs, 1982-. A biennial publication, this is the privatized successor to directory published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Standard directory of unions with introductory essay, union entries arranged by state, listing of labor organizations. Indexes unions by abbreviation; unions by common name; and officers. 

Trade Unions of the World. 6th ed. London: John Harper Publishing, 2005. Organized by country. Entries describe the history, development and status of trade unions and the state of labor law and practice and provide information on trade union centers and significant trade unions, where applicable.