Skip to main content

Social Research and Public Policy

This guide provides resources to assist with your research in the field of Social Research & Public Policy.

Introduction

Journals & Articles

Social science and public policy research encompasses of variety of information resources. Although academic, scholarly or peer reviewed articles and publications are considered the most appropriate sources for university level research and writing assignments, you might also have need of general magazine and news articles. Before using the recommended article databases to start your research, here are a few tips when choosing databases:

  • Start your research in a general article database such as EBSCO Discovery or ProQuest Central.
  • Use subject specific databases such as Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) .
  • If your assignment requires the use of scholarly, academic or peer-reviewed articles, try databases such as JSTOR

Social Science Subject Databases

Subject-specific databases provide articles and resources solely within a specific discipline. This section lists the best social science specific databases providing coverage of scholarly literature across all major social science areas and sub-disciplines.

Public Policy Subject Databases

Subject-specific databases provide articles and resources solely within a specific discipline. This section lists the best public policy and political science databases providing coverage of scholarly literature across all major public policy and political areas and sub-disciplines.

Top 20 Social Science Journals

Top 20 Social Issues Journals (JCR)

Academics around the world rely on the database Journal Citation Reports® (JCR) to learn of the most important scholarly journals in their research fields. JCR evaluates, compares and list the best scholarly research journals available in the sciences and social sciences. It does this by accumulating and ranking cited articles published in major academic journals in a variety of ways including: most cited journals in a field; highest impact journals in a field; and most published articles in a field. The impact factor (considered the most important ranking) is a measure of the frequency with which articles from a specific journal have been cited in the past year. Journals with the highest impact factor are considered the most important in their respective field.

The following lists the top 20 highest impact ranked social issue journals according to the 2016 Journal Citation Reports ®.

1 AMERICAN JOURNAL OF BIOETHICS 11 BIOETHICS
2 SOCIAL ISSUES AND POLICY REVIEW 12 JOURNAL OF MEDICAL ETHICS
3 JOURNAL OF CANCER SURVIVORSHIP 13 JOURNAL OF SOCIAL ISSUES
4 SCIENCE TECHNOLOGY & HUMAN VALUES 14 JOURNAL OF SOCIAL POLICY
5 SOUTH EUROPEAN SOCIETY AND POLITICS 15 KENNEDY INSTITUTE OF ETHICS JOURNAL
6 NONPROFIT AND VOLUTARY SECTOR QUARTERLY 16 ADDICTION RESEARCH AND THEORY
7 JOURNAL OF OCCUPATIONAL REHABILITATION 17 JOURNAL OF HEALTH POLITICS POLICY AND LAW
8 POLITICS AND SOCIETY 18 NEW GENETICS AND SOCIETY
9 YOUTH AND SOCIETY 19 CRITICAL SOCIAL POLICY
10 JOURNAL OF EUROPEAN SOCIAL POLICY 20 SOCIAL POLICY AND ADMINISTRATION