Social Research and Public Policy

Access World News provides the html full text and, for some titles, the pdf "as printed" visual representation, of articles from a variety of national and international news sources, including newspapers, digital-native news websites, television and radio transcripts, blogs, college and university newspapers, journals, magazines, and some audio and video. Most international titles are English language. Dates of coverage vary from title to title, but primarily span the late 20th century to present.

The African Newspapers database includes 19th and 20th century newspapers, and offers access to diverse titles from Africa across a range of academic disciplines.

The Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection includes publications from across this region, providing insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present. Key topics include the decline of colonialism, the collapse of the Ottoman Empire, the Suez Crisis, the Cold War, the rise of the petroleum industry, twentieth-century pan-Arab movements, both World Wars, the establishment of the state of Israel, the Iran-Iraq War, and the recent Arab Spring.

Current NYU students, faculty, and staff can activate complimentary access to The New York Times digital news content using their NYU email address. After using this link to create an account, NYU users should access NYTimes content by directly logging into the NYTimes site. This complimentary access includes New York Times audio, but excludes NYTimes cooking and puzzles. Faculty and staff must renew once every four years using this same Library link.

Current NYU students, faculty, and staff can access The Wall Street Journal digital news content using their NYU email address.  

Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, multi-lingual (English, Spanish, French, German, and more) database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority, and native presses. Full-text content ranges from the 1940s to present day.

Factiva is a resource for U.S. and international newspapers (html full text only, no images or print layout versions), news transcripts, trade journals, newsletters, industry snapshots, and market data charts for recent stock prices. Coverage dates vary from title to title, but primarily span the late 20th century to present.

Provides access to over 1 million foreign newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts and datelines from Beijing, Beirut, Bogota, Cairo, Jakarta,Iraq, Mogadishu, Qatar, Ramallah, Sarajevo, Vienna, and hundreds of other spots around the world - methodically translated into English by the US Government.