It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
International and Comparative Education
An overview of the resources available for researchers in the field of comparative and international education.
by Katie Wissel
Last Updated May 19, 2021
35308 views this year
Education and demographic statistics can usually be found from an individual country's census or on their Ministry of Education's website. These resources also collect and report statistics about educational systems around the world.
Provides indexing and abstracts for federal, state, and international statistical publications as well as selected business and professional publications containing statistics. Approximately 20% of the federal statistical publications are available in full text. Includes all content from the American Statistics Index (ASI), Statistical Reference Index (SRI), and Index to International Statistics (IIS). Dates of coverage: 1973 to present.
Note the Statistics tab on the top menu. OECD iLibrary is the online portal for the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development. The iLibrary includes book collections, policy reports, statistical abstracts, and the OECD.Stat tool, which which users can create custom extracts from the OECD data warehouse.
World DataBank is a portal to access each of the World Bank datasets, including its World Development Indicators, Global Financial Database, Poverty and Equity Database, Gender Statistics, and more. Users can create custom extracts and export data into various tabular formats.
Sustainable Development Goal indicators demonstrate progress on the implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. These indicators and statistical data monitor progress, inform policy and ensure accountability of all stakeholders.
UNSD compiles and disseminates global statistical information, develops standards and norms for statistical activities, and supports countries' efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems.
This site presented the official data, definitions, methodologies and sources for more than 60 indicators to measure progress towards the Millennium Development Goals. This site stopped being updated in 2015 as the UN shifted focus to the Sustainable Development Goals.
The National Center for Education Statistics supports a variety of activities to provide statistical data for cross-national comparisons of education. Reports on G-20 Indicators, PISA, TIMMS and PIAAC are included.
Open Doors is a comprehensive information resource on international students and scholars studying or teaching at higher education institutions in the United States, and U.S. students studying abroad for academic credit at their home colleges or universities. See also the Open Doors print publication in the 1st floor Reference collection.
Statista aggregates data on markets, industry, politics, economics, and population. Users can export datasets in a variety of formats. Sources include trade publications, market and opinion research institutions, government sources, business and economic databases, reference publications, media sources, and scholarly articles. Include Statista's "Global Consumer Survey", which helps marketers understand consumer behavior and brand interaction.