Skip to main content

Second Language Acquisition and TESOL: Research Databases

An overview of resources available for researchers in the field of Second Language Acquisition and TESOL

Finding Books, Videos, Journals

NYU Libraries Catalog, known as BobCat, can help you find books and ebooks**, journals, encyclopedias, videos, and government documents. Enter a topic, a title, an author, or a publisher to search. (To search for journal articles, see the column on the right.)

***Please note: most all ebooks should be findable in Bobcat, but we do have a list of ebook databases that you can search if you rely on specific publishers. Proquest's Ebook Central is our biggest ebook database, but we also have various university press databases and a variety of other publishers like Bloomsbury, Brill, Taylor & Francis, and Sage. Not all books put out by these publishers are available in ebook format.

Search BobCat

Search for books, journals, videos, etc. in our local libraries and special collections.

Search Tips

When using article databases, remember there are always three stages in your workflow:

  1. Discovery: Do and redo your searches! Do a keyword or keyphrase search, scan the results, and figure out if you can do a better search using more focused terms, synonyms, and/or by using the Boolean operators "and, or, not" to get good results. Your first search is not your best search, but rather an opportunity to learn how to immediately do a better search. Learn more about Boolean searching here.
  2. Delivery: For items that you like, select the link to the full text if available. If the citation does not include the full text, use the find full text in another database NYU icon icon to see if we own the full text in another database. If you want to keep this item, save it to your own computer, email it to yourself, or print it.
  3. Document: Keep track of the search terms you've used and a running bibliography of all that good resources you found. If you want to create your own library, NYU Libraries offer a number of citation management tools that you can learn about here. These tools are like research shadows - you can save the metadata of the resources you find there, and they will help you create a bibliography as you write a paper. They require habit to use though!

Research Databases

Select a research database to search for journal articles.

You will be asked for your NYU NetID and password (same as NYU Home) to access the research databases on this list from off campus.

Advanced Research