Skip to Main Content

Yiddish Studies

Dictionaries

Comprehensive English-Yiddish dictionary (based on the lexical research of Mordkhe Schaechter), ed. by Gitl Schaechter-Viswanath, Paul Glasser, Indiana University Press, 2016.
NYU Bobst 9th Floor Reference (PJ5117 .C66 2016 Non-circulating)
Comprehensive Yiddish-English dictionary, by S. Beinfeld & H. Bochner, Indiana University Press, 2013.
NYU Bobst 9th Floor Reference (PJ5117 .B45 2013 Non-circulating)
Adapted from Dictionnaire Yiddish-Francais by Yitskhok Niborski and Bernard Vaisbrot.
Digital version available at: http://verterbukh.org/vbd/registration_help
Groyser Verterbukh fun der Yidisher Shprakh, ed. by Judah A. Joffe, Yudel Mark, Yiddish Dictionary Committee, 1961-1980.
NYU Bobst 9th Floor Reference (PJ5117 .G7 Non-circulating)
Between 1961-1980 four volumes appeared which covered the letter alef.
Digital copy available via Internet Archive.
Nahum Stutchkoff, Der oytser fun der Yidisher shprakh (Thesaurus of the Yiddish Language); unter der redaktsye fun Maks Vaynraykh [Max Weinreich]. Yidisher Visnshaftlekher Institut-Yivo, 1950.
NYU Bobst Main Collection (PJ5117 .S83)
Digital copy available via Internet Archive.

Linguistic Research

EYDES: Evidence of Yiddish Documented in European Societies : the Language and culture atlas of Ashkenazic Jewry, by Marvin Herzog, 2008.
Online and in print.
Related website: eydes.de
LCAAJ Collection of Spoken Yiddish. Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Columbia University.
"An extraordinary archive that is the basis for the LCAAJ (Herzog 1992–2000), with thousands of hours of field interviews with Yiddish-speaking informants collected between 1959 and 1972 and about 100,000 pages of accompanying field notes."