Skip to main content

Social Work Specialized Topics: Articles/Databases

This guide provides links and resources related to LGBTQ issues, Grief and Dying, Elder Abuse, Alcohol and Alcohol Abuse, Seniors, Psychological Tests and Measures, and Children/Youth

Using PsycINFO via Ovid?

See PsycInfo via Ovid Search Tips for instructions (with screenshots) on how to use the Ovid search interface more effectively.

Using Google Scholar?

See Google Scholar Search Tips to learn how to ink into NYU Libraries' full-text subscriptions via Google Scholar.

What does "peer reviewed" mean?

About Databases

Journal literature is central to the scholarly work of psychology. The databases below allow you to search for and access articles published in hundreds of academic journals in psychology and related fields. To access these resources from either an on- and off-campus location, simply click the links below. 

Psychology and Related Databases

Looking for a Specific Article?

If you're looking for the full text of a known citation, use the library's Journals search page.

Enter the article's citation information or just the article's journal title if you don't have the rest.  If you have the article's DOI (Digital Object Identifier), even better!

When you hit SEARCH, a pop-up window will appear with full-text database links that you can use to find the article's PDF.

Finding Full Text

Locating the full text of an article:

 

  • From a database citation, look for a link to "full text" or an NYU icon: 

    The "get-it" link will display options for the full text if available via NYU's electronic subscriptions. 

  • If the journal title (or year of publication) is not available electronically, use the link to search the Bobcat catalog to locate a hard copy
  • If the journal title (or year of publication) is not available in Bobcat  click on the link to Interlibrary loan to order