Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tamiment Library Research & Tools

Research guides and tools for the Tamiment Library's collections.

Overview

Green background with a white cup, gold lyre, and gold shamrocks.

The Archives of Irish America is part of the Tamiment Library.

This important collection documents:

  • the Irish Diaspora in America,
  • its relationship to the American labor movement, to New York City history, and
  • to American culture and society in general

Established in 1997 as part of New York University's Division of Libraries and with the support of Glucksman Ireland House, the Archives of Irish America is a repository of primary research materials that assists students, faculty and visiting scholars in evaluating the Irish impact on the history of American social and cultural development, and the evolution over time of a distinctive Irish-American identity.

The collection is strong in:

  • activities related to immigration issues,
  • support for Irish Republicanism,
  • music and other aspects of popular culture, and
  • Irish Cultural Organizations based in the New York City area 

The majority of materials are 20th century and later.

The Archives is home to the Mick Moloney Irish-American Music and Popular Culture Collection, one of the largest collections in the U.S. for the study of Irish-American music and popular culture. Items range from commercial recordings to 19th century postcards and sheet music to field recordings and interviews of artists and activists in the Irish traditional music world in the United States and abroad made or collected by Dr. Moloney.

Search the finding aids using keywords and the call number prefix "AIA" to find archival collections.


Acknowledgements

The Archives of Irish America was made possible by the generosity of the Irish Institute of New York and the Melvin Rauch Foundation, by the wise guidance of the late Dr. Debra Bernhardt of the Tamiment Library and Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives at NYU, and by the dedicated efforts of Professor Marion R. Casey.

Digital Resources

The following list is comprised of virtual exhibitions and digital collections at New York University and other institutions to enhance, promote, and make accessible scholarship devoted to the Irish Diaspora. If you would like to view any of these materials in our shared reading room, please contact us at tamiment.wagner@nyu.edu!

Mick Moloney Collections

The Archives is home to the Mick Moloney Irish-American Music and Popular Culture Collection, one of the largest collections in the U.S. for the study of Irish-American music and popular culture. Items range from commercial recordings to 19th century postcards and sheet music to field recordings and interviews of artists and activists in the Irish traditional music world in the United States and abroad made or collected by Dr. Moloney.