Research Guides: Jack Brause Library for Real Estate: Brause Collection

Library Collection

The Jack Brause Library includes several thousand volumes devoted to real estate, approximately 100 current print journal subscriptions, and a variety of course reserve materials that support our instructors and students at Midtown Center.

Our collection is not open for in-person browsing. All items in our collection can be found by searching the NYU Library Catalog (see below) and filtering results to show resources by library: "NYU Real Estate."
Many additional real estate resources are available electronically via our Real Estate research guide.
The Library is always expanding and enhancing our collection through the addition of books, journals, and databases in alignment with SPS's programs. Please don't hesitate to suggest a purchase.

Search the NYU Libraries Catalog

Search for books, journals, videos, etc across NYU's libraries. On the results page, limit the "Library" filter to "NYU Real Estate" if you wish to browse only Brause collections.

Books & More

New Print Books

The New Urban Crisis by Richard Florida
In recent years, the young, educated, and affluent have surged back into cities, reversing decades of suburban flight and urban decline. Florida, one of the first scholars to anticipate this back-to-the-city movement in his groundbreaking The Rise of the Creative Class, demonstrates how the same forces that power the growth of the world's superstar cities also generate their vexing challenges: gentrification, unaffordability, segregation, and inequality.
Vital Little Plans by Jane Jacobs
An essential companion to Jacobs’s other books on urbanism, economics, politics, and ethics. It offers readers a unique survey of her entire career in forty short pieces that have never been collected in a single volume, from charming and incisive urban vignettes from the 1930s to the raw materials of her two unfinished books of the 2000s, together with introductions and annotations by editors Samuel Zipp and Nathan Storring.
Streetfight: A Handbook for an Urban Revolution by Janette Sadik-Khan; Seth Solomonow
Like a modern-day Jane Jacobs, Janette Sadik-Khan transformed New York City's streets to make room for pedestrians, cyclists, buses, and green spaces. Describing the battles she fought to enact change, Streetfight imparts wisdom and practical advice that other cities can follow to make their own streets safer and more vibrant.

Borrowing Policy

Access to our closed-stack collection can be requested in advance via request options in the library catalog. Please contact midtown.library@nyu.edu for guidance.
All circulation notices will be sent to the borrower's NYU email address.
If borrowers fail to return items on multiple occasions, a block will be placed on their Brause Library privileges for the remainder of the semester.
If borrowers accrue unpaid overdue fines and replacement fines on their library account they will not be able to register for classes, receive official transcripts, or participate in graduation. Overdue fines and replacement fines can be paid over the phone (212) 998-2530 or in-person at the Bobst Circulation Desk during open hours.

Related Links: