Applied Psychology: Data & statistics

image source: justgrimes

NYU Data Services 
A joint service of NYU Libraries and ITS that supports quantitative, qualitative, and geographical research at NYU through specialty software, training, support, and consultation. 

Below are some select sources that collect and disseminate various collections of social data.  

For more in-depth info on finding data and statistics, please see our full research guide at guides.nyu.edu/datasources.

• National Center for Education Statistics
  Serves as the central clearinghouse for data and statistical information about education in the United States.
   
• National Institute of Mental Health Statistics
  Provides an ever-expanding collection of data relating to mental health in the United States. 
   
• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  The CDC's Data & Statistics portal provides fast access to national statistics on various mental health-related behaviors and conditions and links to related studies for source data. For additional background information, browse the CDC's index of topics.  
   
• ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
  Contains the largest collection of social science data available. **Users must create a MyData account from an NYU-owned computer to download data.** The topics covered are innumerable and data can be both quantitative or qualitative in nature. Special thematic data collections include:
  • Health and Medical Care Archive
  • Measures of Effective Teaching Longitudinal Database
  • Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods
  • National Addiction & HIV Data Archive Program 
    ​
• Sociometrics
  Sociometrics contains 303 datasets, 83 evidenced-based programs, 22 capacity-building tools covering the following broad subject areas: Adolescent Pregnancy, HIV/AIDS, Substance Abuse, Disability, Alternative Medicine, Demography, and Mental Health. With funding from the National Institutes of Health (NIH), its goal is to translate the latest behavioral and social science research findings into products that improve health and healthcare delivery.
   
• Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
  Sources datasets from reputable public and private organizations and covers topics across 16 broad subject areas, including education, population and income, industry, commerce, and trade, housing and construction, and more. All of the data have been standardized and structured and are described with 37 fields of metadata including DOI, summary-level visualizations of the data, descriptions, titles, geographic entities, data-specific elements, and standardized citations. **Requires Java - JVM Version 1.4.2 to operate.**
   
• NYU's Health Statistics Research Guide
  A guide to locating and using health statistics, including mental health data.  Highlights sources by geographical region (e.g., NYC, New York States, national, international).