Research Guides: Applied Psychology: Applied Psych Reference Works

About this page

Reference works, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, provide background information on a topic and are especially useful at the beginning of a research project. They can help you:

get an overview of a topic
gather fast facts
define terms, theories, and people in an area
focus your argument
find further readings written by experts in the field

This page highlights reference works in the field of applied psychology. Reference works in general psychology are on a separate page of this guide.

Reference Works on Cultural and Social Context

Below is a selection of reference titles for background information about a particular cultural group, religion, and/or nation.

To access these works and more, search for them by title OR browse for them under the "Nation and World," "Religion," and/or "History" categories in Gale Virtual Reference Library.

In addition, Credo Reference is an excellent general source of background information on various subjects, including individual cultural groups.

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Nationalism
Global in scope with more contributors from Africa, China, Japan, Latin America, the Middle East, Russia, and South Asia than any other reference on the topic. Explores the importance and impact of race, ethnicity and nationalism on private, public and not-for-profit organizations and institutions in the modern, global world.
The Encyclopedia of World Cultures
This reference set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.
The Encyclopedia of World Cultures, Supplement
Supplement to Encyclopedia of World Cultures.
Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Presents profiles of 193 countries of the world. Topics include climate, plants and animals, population and ethnic groups, religions, transportation, history, government, political parties, judicial system, economy, education, arts, media, tourism, and famous people.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Presents easy-to-understand information on 194 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
This new set identifies and addresses broad themes critical to understanding the texture of the cultures, achievements, challenges, and promise of the 150 million people of African descent who live in North America, Central and South America, and the Caribbean. It is an authoritative and comprehensive information about Black history, figures, and accomplishments throughout the Americas now have a defining and current reference.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
This title looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Containing thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies.
Encyclopedia Judaica
Providing an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures, Encyclopaedia Judaica, Second Edition is important to scholars, general readers and students. With more than 22,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion, this second edition incorporates more than three decades of changes and the latest scholarship-such as new archaeological sites, theories and analytical methodologies. Featuring original work by top scholars representing all major universities and centres of research in Jewish studies, this invaluable set expands the scope and relevance of the original with some 2,200 brand-new entries.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
A six-volume survey of modern Asia, defined as extending from Japan in the east to Turkey in the west, and from Kazakhstan in the north to Indonesia in the south. Presents entries covering such subjects as countries, cities, regions, natural features, religions, social issues, languages, people, events, customs, politics, and economics.
Encyclopedia of Modern China
Provides critical information on the most populous country and most dynamic trade market in the world: the people, politics, economics, religion, philosophy, traditions, art, and literature of this ancient and enduring civilization are explored from the beginning of the nineteenth century to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Religion
This work is widely regarded as the standard reference work in the field. It offers a cross-cultural approach while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. New composite entries present overarching themes - for example, gender and religion, politics and religion - with each article within the composite covering a different religious tradition.
Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures
A unique collaboration of over 900 scholars from around the world, the Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures crosses history, geographic borders and disciplines to create a ground-breaking reference work reflecting the very latest research on gender studies and the Islamic world.
New Encyclopedia of Africa
Addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict. Covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism.
UXL Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
Provides detailed studies of tribes from all over the United States and Canada, including small tribes and some that no longer exist. Gives detailed yet accessible information on history, religion, art, government, economy, daily life and current social and political issues.

Online Reference Works in Applied Psychology

International Education Reference Works

Researching a topic on international education?

Be sure to check out the reference works on this page of the International and Comparative Education research guide!

DSM Online

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) by American Psychiatric Association

The newest edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, called the DSM-5, is now available.

For a PRINT copy, see the title's GetIt page for locations and call number.

For an ONLINE copy, use the link above.

Oxford University Press Online

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Psychology
Oxford Bibliographies in Psychology is a quick, comprehensive, and efficient source for exploring or staying current with the growing science of psychology.

Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks Online publishes original, peer reviewed, research reviews covering the key issues and exploring major debates in psychology and other disciplines.

Reviews of Research & Book Reviews

Review materials are a good way to familiarize yourself with trends and key ideas in current psychology. These are usually annual or monthly cumulations of articles or citations to articles that give you a brief summary of research and findings.

Annual Review of Psychology
1950 to date. Articles review significant developments in the field of psychology, including: biological bases of behavior, sensation and perception, cognitive processes, animal learning and behavior, human development, psychopathology, clinical and counseling psychology, social psychology, personality, environmental psychology, community psychology, and more.
Annual Review of Clinical Psychology
2005 to date. Articles provide comprehensive reviews of significant developments in the field of Clinical Psychology and Psychiatry. The journal covers research, theory, and the application of psychological principles to address recognized disorders, including schizophrenia, mood, anxiety, childhood, substance use, cognitive, and personality disorders. Chapters also address broader issues cross-cutting the field, such as diagnosis, treatment, social policy, and cross-cultural and legal issues

Annual Review of Gerontology and Geriatrics
1980 to date. Articles discuss contemporary issues and review research on the physical, social, and mental processes of aging.
PsycCRITIQUES via APA PsycNET
Critical reviews of books, films and other media relevant to psychology. It replaces the print journal Contemporary Psychology and the database contains the contents of the journal's backfiles.
Book Review Digest Plus
Indexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction. Dates of coverage: 1983 to present.