Skip to main content

Graphic Novels and Comics: Journals and Online resources

A guide for students and researchers interested in comics and graphic novels

Comic Book Plus (formerly Golden Age Comics)

The goal of this Comic Book Plus is to provide a free resource where users can easily download copyright free golden age comics without the need to ask or worry about searching high and low for them. 

 

Bonn Online Bibliography for Comics Research

The Bonn Online Bibliography for Comics Research is an international bibliographic database for scholarly literature about comics, graphic novels, manga and related fields. Not included so far (with a few exceptions) are articles from fan magazines, newspapers and blogs. The Bonn Online Bibliography for Comics Research sees itself as a complement and supplement to similar undertakings that have a different (wider or narrower) approach, such as ComicsResearch.org or the comics research bibliography.

Graphic Novel Reporter

The Graphic Novel Reporter contains a variety of resources related to graphic novels including: interviews, op-ed pieces, reviews, core lists, bestseller lists, and a blog. 

Loading ...

Comic Book Reporter

Comic Book Resources (CBR) is the premier online comics magazine. Renowned for it's high quality and diverse content and active community, CBR draws the most loyal audience of users.  Contains lots of resources including: blogs, reviews, videos and lots more.

Comics Research Bibliography

The Comics Research Bibliography is an international bibliography of comic books, comic strips, animation, caricature, cartoons, bandes dessinees, and related topics. It is divided into four sections, arranged alphabetically by author, for ease of use. Last updated in 2009.

Graphic Medicine - Online Exhibition

Graphic Medicine is an online exhibition from the National Library of Medicine on who comics can tell personal stories of illness and health.

Help is on the Way! Comic Books and Superheroes in Special Collection - Online Exhibition

The exhibit, “‘Help Is On The Way!’ Comic Books and Superheroes in Special Collections,” features comics selected from the Baldwin Library of  Historical Children's Literature.  The focus is mainly on popular superheroes/comic books that appeared in DC comics published during the so-called “Silver Age” (roughly from the late 50s through the early 70s). This is an “era” of increasing interest in collecting and scholarship. - Robert Shaddy  

Cartoon Drawings: Swann Collection of Caricature and Cartoon from the Library of Congress

The Caroline and Erwin Swann Collection of Caricature and Cartoon contains 2,085 drawings, prints, and paintings that span the years 1780 to 1977. Most of the images are cartoons, comic strips, and periodical illustrations drawn by American artists between 1890 and 1970. The Creator/Related Name Index provides a full list of the more than 500 represented artists and illustrators. A generous gift and bequest from Caroline and Erwin Swann brought their collection to the Library of Congress in 1974 and 1977.

Comix-Scholars Discussion List

The COMIX-SCHOLARS-L list is an academic forum from the University of Florida's Comic Studies department, which serves the interests of those involved in research, criticism and teaching related to comics art. All aspects of comics and cartooning from around the world are open for discussion.  This page also contains other resources for the study of comics.

Journals

Keeping up with journal literature is the best way to stay up-to-date on the current research trends in the field.  Because the study of Graphic Novels and Comics encompasses other fields, such as art and film, you may want to target a few journals and set up RSS feeds or alerts for others.  Google Scholar is a great place to begin with alerts. 

Here are a few journals you may want to take a look at: 

Grand Comics Database

The Grand Comics Database (GCD) is an ongoing international project to build a detailed comic-book database that will be easy to use and understand, and also easy for contributors to add information to it. This fully searchable and sortable database includes information on creator credits, story details, and other information useful to the comic-book reader, fan, collector, and scholar.

Wonderfully Vulgar - British comics 1873 to 1939 - Online Exhibition

The online exhibition "Wonderfully Vulgar" presents a selection of British comics from the 1870s (the Ally Sloper era) to the 1930s (knockabout comics). The phrase "wonderfully vulgar" used in the exhibition title is taken from an interview in which Charlie Chaplin recalled his pleasure in reading comics as a boy in 1890s London.

The exhibition is based on a collection of around 5000 historical British comics housed in the Library (BIS) of the University of Oldenburg in Germany.

Comics in the Curriculum - Online Exhibition

Comics in the Curriculum is an online exhibition, curated by Karen Green from Columbia University, about how graphic novels can be incorporated into research and curricula.

Comic Books Cultures - Online Exhibition

Comic Book Cultures is an online exhibition from Duke University Libraries which explores the resonance of comic books in 20th century American culture.

Cartoon Drawings: Herblock Collection from the Library of Congress

The Herblock Collection at the Library of Congress is a collection featuring the work of Herbert L. Block, one of the most influential political and editorial cartoonists in American history.

Visual Language Lab

The Visual Language Lab is a site developed by Neil Cohen and is the home for his research on drawing and visual language.  Lots of great resources! 

The Digital Comic Museum

The mission of The Digital Comic Museum is to provide as close to a free resource as possible where users can easily download public domain golden age comics without the need to ask or worry about searching the net for them. 

Blogs

Arab Comics: A Very Serious Matter! - Online Exhibition

Arab Comics: A Very Serious Matter! - Online Exhibition from the American University of Beirut

Heroes and Villians - Online Exhibition

Heroes and Villians: Silver Age Comics is an online exhibition of works from the J. Murrey Atkins Library Special Collections at the University of North Carolina-Charlotte

SANE journal: Sequential Art Narrative in Education

SANE journal: Sequential Art Narrative in Education publishes research and practitioner-based articles covering all intersections of comics and education, from pre-k to post-secondary studies, from a variety of disciplines.

Founded in 2010 by Dr. James "Bucky" Carter and initially hosted by Scholarly Exchange, SANE Journal is one of the few peer-reviewed platforms pertaining to the educational uses of the comics medium. In 2014, SANE migrated over to the bepress platform, and is now hosted by the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.