Skip to main content

Computer Science and Engineering: Bibliographic Tools

Citation databases for CS Research

Bibliographic Tools

Bibliographic tools are used to compile more or less comprehensive lists of the existing literature on a subject or topic.

There are two basic varieties of electronic bibliographic tools: static and modular.

With those of the first variety users peruse pre-prepared bibliographies compiled by specialists on topics within Computer Science. With these resources, items in the bibliographic database have already been organized into lists.

With bibliographic tools of the second type, users group entries in a bibliographic database together according to criteria they set by manipulating parameters in a search interface.

As a rule bibliographic databases in Computer Science will have records for documents of all genres (books, journals, articles, working papers, conference proceedings, dissertations and theses, technical reports, etc.). Also be aware that, when what you’re looking for is a comprehensive bibliography on a specific topic, it’s a good idea to find out if there’s a recent thesis or dissertation on that topic. Authors of dissertations and theses are required to conduct exhaustive surveys of existing literature relevant to their project. They therefore represent excellent bibliography-mining opportunities. For more on searching for dissertations & theses see the Dissertations & Theses tab in this guide.

 

Icon Key

more information  = More information
full text  = Some full text is available
database search help = Database search help
article linker = Article linker (SFX) enabled
restricted access = Restricted to NYU*

* You will be prompted to log in when off-campus.