Research Guides: Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering: Databases

About Library Databases

The Library subscribes to a wide range of electronic databases. Some contain full text of journals, newspapers, magazines or books while others contain only citations and abstracts.

Off Campus Access

In most cases, you will have to login to the database if you are off campus. Login using NYU NetID and password.

More information about logging in.

Citation Tools

RefWorks This link opens in a new window
A commercial online research management, writing and collaboration tool. Available for free to the NYU community (login with NYU NetID required).

Although features vary from program to program, most citation management tools help you do three things:
1. Import citation information from a variety of sources (including library databases) automatically
2. Collect, organize and annotate references
3. Generate bibliographies and in-text citations in a variety of styles automatically

Zotero
Free online reference management tool for use with the Firefox browser that helps you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.
EndNote via Web of Science
The all-in-one commercial software to manage your research. Available through Web of Science
JabRef
A free java-based open source desktop application.

Databases

Use recommended databases below to start your research.

If you need a journal that's the most influential in your field try Journal Citation Reports (JCR) by ISI Web of Knowledge. JCR provides statistical information on the influence and impact a journal has in its field.

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
AccessEngineering provides reference E-Books and instructional videos on major areas of engineering. It features content from a broad range of engineering publications, including the latest editions of classics such as Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, and Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain. This collection also includes some Schaum's outlines.
ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
Search the journals of the American Chemical Society.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
Engineering Village (Formerly Compendex) This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village is a specialized discovery platform where researchers can effectively search multiple engineering databases all in one place.

Organic Syntheses
Since 1921, Organic Syntheses has provided the chemistry community with annual collections of detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds. Some procedures describe practical methods for the preparation of specific compounds of interest, while other procedures illustrate important synthetic methods with general utility. Each procedure is written in considerably more detail as compared to typical experimental procedures in other journals, and each reaction and all characterization data has been carefully "checked" for reproducibility in the laboratory of a member of the Board of Editors.
PubMed Central (PMC)
The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

Royal Society of Chemistry This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals, books and databases from the Royal Society of Chemistry. You can reach over 1 million chemical science articles and chapters.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals Online is a single-search interface for full-text access to journals published by SAGE. Users can discover content in many disciplines across the Health Sciences, Social Sciences, Humanities, Engineering, and Life Sciences.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a portal for scholarship published in the sciences, engineering, and technology disciplines.
AIP Publishing (formerly AIP Scitation) This link opens in a new window
AIP Publishing is a wholly owned not-for-profit subsidiary of the American Institute of Physics (AIP). AIP Publishing's mission is to support the charitable, scientific and educational purposes of AIP through scholarly publishing activities in the fields of the physical and related sciences.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink provides access to journal articles, books, and reference works in the biomedical sciences, life sciences, and computer sciences.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection is a multidisciplinary citation index that includes scholarly articles, conference proceedings, and books in the biomedical, psychosocial, and arts and humanities. The collections contain Science Citation, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index , Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Emerging Sources Citation Index and Current Chemical Reactions index.
Wiley Current Protocols This link opens in a new window
Current Protocols has been the leading source of laboratory protocols for over 25 years and comprises more than 14,000 straightforward, step-by-step procedures and techniques across 17 titles. This is the Protocols database of Wiley ONLINE LIBRARY.

Icon Key

= More information
= Some full text is available
= Database search help
= Article linker enabled
= Restricted to NYU*

* You will be prompted to log in when off-campus.

RSS & Alerts

Many databases have email Alerts and RSS feeds. These tools bring the latest information to you. Take advantage of them by signing up with individual database providers. For more information on RSS feeds visit RSS: Making Information Come to You

Can't Find What You Need?

Ask a Librarian We can help you find the item in our collection or borrow it from another library.
Request items from other Libraries or the Interlibrary Loan Form.