Research Guides: Electrical and Computer Engineering: Article Searching Using Databases

Databases with Substantial Coverage in Computer Science

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore , under the banner of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, provides full text access technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Content includes electronic journals, magazine, and books; conference proceedings; standards; and Standards Dictionary Online. Most articles are available in PDF and HTML. Tools include links to citations, references and figures.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a portal for scholarship published in the sciences, engineering, and technology disciplines.
ProQuest Computing This link opens in a new window
An indexing database for publications in Computer Science and Electrical and Electronics Engineering managed by ProQuest and providing access to many EEE periodicals. A component of the ProQuest suite of databases, ProQuest Computing provides access (in most cases full-text access) to the contents of approximately 25 EEE periodicals, including academic journals, trade journals and popular press. The areas best represented are circuit manufacturing, satellites, sensors and robotics. ProQuest Computing indexes more publications than it provides full-text access to, and so can also be useful as a bibliographic tool.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
The database maintained by the science and business publisher Springer, which publishes 5 journal titles in Computer Hardware, and approximately 40 journal titles in Electronic and Computer Engineering. SpringerLink's Computer Hardware coverage includes: Arithmetic and Logic Structures; Control Structures and Microprogramming; Input/Output and Data Communications; Logic Design; Memory Structures; Performance and Reliability; Register-Transfer-Level Implementation; Computer Imaging, Graphics. Areas represented under the Electronic and Computer Engineering rubric include: Circuits and Systems; Communications Engineering and Networks; Control Engineering; Electronics, Microelectronics and Instrumentation; Microwaves, RF and Optical Engineering.
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to Cambridge University Press's titles in EEE: APSIPA Transactions on Signal and Information Processing, International Journal of Microwave and Wireless Technologies, Robotica.

Computing Research Repository
The Computing Research Repository is a component of the open-access arXIv e-print service operated by Cornell University and is a moderated rather than peer-reviewed forum. While CORR is primarily a Computer Science source, the volume of contributions in EEE areas such as Hardware Architecture, Robotics and Systems and Control is steadily increasing. Rather than use the traditional peer-review system, arXiv operates on a moderated model. Qualified registered users submit papers and moderators constantly review uploaded content and remove content that it is deemed inappropriate or which is determined not to meet the academic standards of Cornell University. This system significantly reduces time-to-publication delays and facilitates timely access to current research. CoRR publishes articles in all areas of Computer Science and Computer Engineering.

Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
A database maintained by SAGE Publications, Sage Journals provides full-text access to the EEE titles in the publisher’s output, including Journal of Vibration and Control, Journal of Systems and Control Engineering, The International Journal of Robotics Research.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Database maintained by the Association for Computing Machinery. Primarily concerned with Computer Science, the ACM Digital Library does also have coverage of some EEE-relevant areas. Areas best represented include Control Structures and Microprogramming; Arithmetic and Logic Structures; Memory Structures; Register-Transfer-Level Implementation; Logic Design; Integrated Circuits; Performance and Reliability.
ProQuest Telecommunications This link opens in a new window
This database is a resource for researching the telecommunications industry or its technology. The database allows you to search more than 600,000 records, dating back to the early 1990's.
ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
The ASME Digital collection provides access to journals published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
This digital library maintained by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) provides full-text access to the several EEE journals the Society publishes. The ASME's EEE journal titles include: Journal of Biomechanical Engineering; Journal of Computational and Nonlinear Dynamics; Journal of Computing and Information Science in Engineering; Journal of Dynamic Systems, Measurement, and Control; Journal of Electronic Packaging; Journal of Engineering for Power; Journal of Engineering Materials and Technology; Journal of Mechanisms and Robotics; Journal of Mechanisms Transmissions and Automation in Design; Journal of Medical Devices; Journal of Micro and Nano-Manufacturing; Journal of Nanotechnology in Engineering and Medicine.
NYU Libraries have access to most of the ASME journals and Current Conference Proceedings (2008 to present)
Engineering Village (Formerly Compendex) This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village is a specialized discovery platform where researchers can effectively search multiple engineering databases all in one place.

Searching Across Publications in Databases

Browsing prominent journals in Electrical and Electronic Engineering can be a good way to survey the research in the field. Often, though, it is necessary to focus searches more narrowly at the subject-matter level and more broadly at the source level.

For example, if you are interested in monitoring broader trends in signal processing, looking through recent issues of IEEE Signal Processing Magazine might be a good way to accomplish this. Someone doing research on a specific recent development in radar and detection technologies and their application in electronic warfare will have to conduct a more focused search across a much greater territory in order to collect as much as possible of what has been published. If you are interested not only in the technology itself but also in its social, ethical, legal and economic implications may want to expand their search beyond the academic Electrical Engineering literature and look at social science literature and possibly also magazines and newspapers.

A variety of entities (publishers, academic institutions, professional organizations) maintain databases which index the contents of periodicals and allow the researcher to search across a body of publications. For more in-depth information about the range of databases available to NYU affiliates, visit the guide Databases (Electronic Resources). What’s given on this page is a list of databases with substantial coverage in Electrical and Electronic Engineering.

Icon Key

= More information
= Some full text is available
= Database search help
= Article linker enabled
= Restricted to NYU*

* You will be prompted to log in when off-campus.