Skip to main content
(Layout: No Subtitles)

Library Resources for NYU Rwanda HRH Program

Choosing a Database

Where to start?  This list of databases below will help you to find current and retrospective articles on your topic. The scope of the health sciences is highly interdisciplinary; the following list is not intended to be exhaustive but should be used as an introduction to indexes in the areas of major interest serving the various academic programs.

Combining Terms

Need help constructing a search using Boolean connectors AND and OR?
Link to:

Boolean search guide and examples

Limiting to "Peer Reviewed" Articles

"Peer reviewed"  (or "refereed" journals) are those that subject content to a critical review by other experts in the field prior to accepting a manuscript for publication. Thus, limiting your literature search to the peer-reviewed journals ensures a higher level of scholarship and research methodology.  Magazines, trade journals, and newspapers tend to be "non-peer-reviewed," meaning perhaps just the editor or someone who is not an expert in the field has reviewed the content before publishing.  How do you know if a journal citation is from a peer-reviewed journal?

Finding Full Text

Locating the full text of an article:

 

  • From a database citation, look for a link to "full text" or an NYU icon: 

    The "get-it" link will display options for the full text if available via NYU's electronic subscriptions. 

  • If the journal title (or year of publication) is not available electronically, use the link to search the Bobcat catalog to locate a hard copy
  • If the journal title (or year of publication) is not available in Bobcat  click on the link to Interlibrary loan to order

What is google scholar? How should I use it?

Google Scholar is a time-saving, scholarly search interface accessible from within the Google interface. With Google Scholar, you can access peer-reviewed journal articles, books and book sections.  For literature searching, specialized databases have more functionality and access more comprehensive results, but Google Scholar is a good tool to use for a search for a known item.

You can configure Google Scholar to:

  • Display a link to NYU options for the full-text of an article
  • Export your citations to RefWorks or EndNote

Here's how to display NYU links:

  1. Open scholar.google.com
  2. Go to the left screen, 3 bars, "Settings" 
  3. Click on menu item, "Library Links"
  4. Type in: NYU
  5. From the results, put a check mark next to "New York University Libraries-GetIt at NYU"
  6. Click on Save to save preferences.

The next time you search scholar.google.com, the GetIt at NYU option will be available next to accessible article citations.

 

Here's how to change settings for Bibliography manager:

  1. Open scholar.google.com
  2. Go to the left screen, 3 bars, "Settings" 
  3. In the Search Results, go to Bibliography Manager
  4. Select Show Links  to import citation into: (your choice of bibliography manager, BibTex, Refworks, Endnote, etc.)
  5. Click on Save to save preferences.

Filtering the Literature for Best Evidence

Once you have done some initial database searching, you will want to think about "filtering" your results to locate the best evidence.

Link to Filtering the Evidence