Research Guides: Hospitality and Tourism: Company Information: Public &amp; Private

Company Profiles

Find company profiles, financials, SEC Filings, analyst reports, industry research, news and more with these multi-content resources:

GuideStar: the National Database of Nonprofit Organizations This link opens in a new window
Provides data on IRS-recognized nonprofit organizations in the U.S.Search by operating budgets, size, location, and National Taxonomy of Exempt Entities (NTEE). Highlight include a financial trends analysis snapshot for each organization and downloadable form 990s.
To access the premium section of Guidestar, you must register and create an account. Once registered, NYU users are permitted to download 1000 records per month.
Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Hoovers contains public and private company profiles. Includes key executive profiles, industry coverage, and detailed company fact sheets.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect is a directory of public and private companies in the US and worldwide. Includes contact information, financials, and key personnel. It provides information from Hoovers Online and Dun and Bradstreet but with additional downloading capabilities.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online is the online version of the former Moody's Manuals. Provides a history of the company, summary balance sheets and income statements, capital structure, subsidiaries, principal officers, and financial filings.

Not finding what you're looking for? The full list of company databases is available on the NYU Business Library's company page.

SEC Filings including Annual Reports & 10Ks

Public companies are required to file various forms with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) and as a result SEC Filings, including Annual Reports & 10Ks, are readily available in many sources. These include the company website, EdgarOnline (SEC) and the select list of databases available via NYU that are listed below.

EdgarOnline
EDGAR is the primary system for submissions by companies and other entities that are required by law to file information with the SEC.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Find SEC filings by clicking on the tab labeled "Government Filings".
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
S&P NetAdvantage has SEC documents available under the Companies tab.
Please clear your browser's cache and cookies before attempting to access this resource.

Corporate Organization Structure

Corporate organization charts may be proprietary information and difficult to find. Sometimes a company may publish the chart in their annual report or SEC 10-K filing.

The listing below allows access to up to 20 organization charts for free:

The Official Board
Offers charts for "the world's 20,000 largest corporations."

Competitors/Peers

Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Factiva is a resource for U.S. and international newspapers (html full text only, no images or print layout versions), news transcripts, trade journals, newsletters, industry snapshots. To find competitors, select Company from the Companies/Markets drop-down menu at top of screen, enter company name or symbol into the search box, select Peer Comparison from the menu on the left.
Requires NetID login from on or off campus.
Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Search by company name. The resulting information will include a link to competitors.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Search by company name. The resulting information will include a tab which links to a list of competitors.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage allows users to research companies and industries. To find competitors, search by company name; select Peer Analysis in the left column of the results screen.
Please clear your browser's cache and cookies before attempting to access this resource.