Research Guides: NYU Florence Library & Online Resources: For Students

NYU Study Abroad website

NYU's Study Abroad Site
Contains very useful information about Study Abroad programs, country information, other student's experiences and tips and many more.

Did you know?

You can send us questions.

Use the Ask-a-Librarian email form to send us a question, and we'll get back to you as soon as possible.

We have New Student Resources.

The New to NYU guide is helpful for any new student.

NYU Librarians are subject experts.

NYU Libraries has subject librarians who develop the Libraries' collection and provide advanced research assistance – in person and via e-mail. You can find your subject librarian on the library website. If you're a freshman or sophomore, and aren't sure who your librarian is, just Ask A Librarian.

You can avoid plagiarism.

Information that you find on the internet, journal articles, books, etc. is someone else's intellectual property. Make your own ideas the focus of your paper. Any words, ideas, or original research that are not your own must be cited, even if you summarize it in your own words. When in doubt, cite the source! For more resources, visit the library's citation guide. NYU Libraries provides bibliographic formatting software for students; EasyBib is a good one to get started with.

Seven Ways to Find Books & Articles

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
NYU Libraries' largest collection of online books. Titles are very current and span all disciplines. By signing in, you can create a personal bookshelf, take notes, highlight text, etc.

NYU Libraries main website can be overwhelming! Here are some suggested resources to help get you started with your research.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Great for beginning researchers, this is a good general source for newspaper, magazine and journal articles on a wide range of topics.

Articles & Databases
NYU Libraries' subscription databases organized by subject and content-type. Use the "General Search" option if you're not sure which subject to choose.
Quick facts and background information
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, writing guides, almanacs, statistics, and other online reference tools. The "Dictionaries" category includes the Oxford English Dictionary and many foreign language dictionaries.
E-Journals
If you have an article citation and want to locate the full-text, search for the JOURNAL TITLE first, then navigate to the year, issue and pages for the article you need. You can also browse and search across all available issues of individual journals.
Google Scholar
Customize Google Scholar in order to automatically link to content owned by NYU Libraries. Use "Scholar Preferences" and enter "New York University Libraries - Get at NYU" in the Find Libraries search box; be sure to save your preferences.