Research Guides: NYU Business Library: Articles, News, & Working Papers

Popular Business Publications

Catalog Entry	Commercial Web Interface	Researcher Interface	App
Barron's	No	Barron's via ProQuest	No
Bloomberg Businessweek	No	Bloomberg Businessweek via EBSCO	No
Bloomberg.com	Only on-site at the Bloomberg terminal using the BBG <GO> command	Bloomberg.com via EBSCO (Most recent week not available due to publisher restriction)	No
Crain's New York	No	Crain's New York via EBSCO	No
The Economist	The Economist (No account required)	The Economist via ProQuest	No
Financial Times	No	Financial Times via ProQuest (Most recent 30 days not available due to publisher restriction)	No
Harvard Business Review (HBR)	No	Harvard Business Review via EBSCO	No
HBR Digital Archive (HBR.org exclusive articles)	No	HBR Digital Archive via EBSCO	No
New York Times	Create a NYT Account	The New York Times via ProQuest	Yes
Wall Street Journal	Create a WSJ Account	Wall Street Journal via ProQuest	Yes

Catalog entry details all electronic access options, including platforms and date ranges.
Commercial web interface is the most convenient for leisure reading. Not all publishers sell access to their website to libraries.
Researcher interface is our recommendation for the best platform for searching within a publication.
App is whether or not NYU's subscription includes access via the publisher's mobile application.

Confused by these interfaces? Watch this video.

Search for E-Journals by Journal Title

Search by E-Journal Title

Journal and Newspaper Databases

ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window ABI/INFORM features full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business, and economics periodicals. Researchers can locate country- and industry-focused reports, and its international focus provides a picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Access World News This link opens in a new window Access World News provides the html full text and, for some titles, the pdf "as printed" visual representation, of articles from a variety of national and international news sources, including newspapers, digital-native news websites, television and radio transcripts, blogs, college and university newspapers, journals, magazines, and some audio and video. Most international titles are English language. Dates of coverage vary from title to title, but primarily span the late 20th century to present.
Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window Accounting, Tax, & Banking Collection provides comprehensive coverage of accounting and tax topics appearing in key industry publications, scholarly journals and newspapers. National and international in scope, key publications focus on accounting policies and standards, state and national tax legislation, corporate and individual taxation, compensation and pension plans, and corporate financial management, as well as profiles of accounting firms, CPAs, and management consulting firms. Dates of coverage: 1971 to present.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window Alternative Press Index (API) is a database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Coverage dates begin in 1991, for earlier content use the Alternative Press Index Archive database.
Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new window Alternative Press Index Archive (APIA) contains journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from international alternative, radical, and left periodicals from 1969-1990. For more recent content see the database Alternative Press Index.
Asian & European Business Collection This link opens in a new window Asian Business Collection from Proquest, a subset of the Asian & European Business Collection, provides current and historical information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia, from academic journals, newspapers, and magazines, covering companies, economies, markets, international trade, and overall business conditions and practices.
AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window AP Newsroom (formerly AP Images) contains photos and audio gathered by Associated Press reporters around the world. Content is updated daily and continuously. The archive also includes the NYC Associated Press Daybook (the AP Daybook), the current year's photo report, and historical images dating from the 1500s. Photos and audio may be downloaded or printed.
Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window Business Abstracts with Full Text provides access to popular, scholarly, and trade publications. The content includes articles, reviews, interviews, biographies, corporate profiles, and professional reports. Dates of coverage: 1982 to present.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete is a full text database of articles from popular, scholarly, and trade publications. Subjects covered include management, economics, finance, accounting, international business. Dates of coverage: 1886 to present.
Caixin Global This link opens in a new window Caixin Global provides financial and business news in China. It is the English language platform of Caixin, an independent media outlet in China with a Public Trust Committee to guarantee its integrity. Our subscription allows complete access to Caixin paid content, including their CX Flash brief stories and a weekly audio roundup of news.
"Locked" articles requiring subscription are only accessible from on campus. Click "中文" to view the Chinese language version. Please register for an account once you are on the homepage of the Chinese language version. You will have access to full-text content after the registration is complete.

Please refer to this document for instructions on how to register with your @nyu.edu email address.
Cannabis NewsBank Research Edition This link opens in a new window Cannabis NewsBank: Research Edition is a resource for researchers seeking information related to the cannabis and hemp industries.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is a source for theory and research in international affairs. It includes scholarship, working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals, case studies for teaching, and policy briefs.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Communication and Mass Media Complete indexes and abstracts academic and trade journals in communications and mass media. Full-text is included for some titles. Conference proceedings are also available, including those of the International Communication Association.
Conference Board Research Online This link opens in a new window Conference Board provides reports on key business issues regarding corporate leadership, human capital, high-performing organizations, the economy, markets, sustainability, and philanthropy.
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window Dissertations and Theses Global contains indexes, dissertations and some theses. Full-text is available for many dissertations and theses, including those from NYU.
EconLit This link opens in a new window EconLit is published by the American Economic Association and indexes and abstracts a wide range of economics-related literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books, and dissertations, EconLit covers both economic theory and application. Coverage dates: 1969 to present.
Economist Historical Archive This link opens in a new window Economist Historical Archive contains searchable complete copies of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2012.
Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS) This link opens in a new window Emerging Markets Information Service contains articles, news, financial filings for publicly held companies, and analyst reports in emerging countries in Asia, Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe.
Requires NetID and password.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, multi-lingual (English, Spanish, French, German, and more) database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority, and native presses. Full-text content ranges from the 1940s to present day.
Factiva This link opens in a new window Factiva is a resource for U.S. and international newspapers (html full text only, no images or print layout versions), news transcripts, trade journals, newsletters, industry snapshots, and market data charts for recent stock prices. Coverage dates vary from title to title, but primarily span the late 20th century to present.
- This link opens in a new window
Requires NetID login from on or off campus.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service This link opens in a new window Foreign Broadcast Information Service provides online access to the daily reports, compiled by the Central Intelligence Agency, of translations of news stories and broadcasts from around the world. Includes coverage of the Foreign Broadcasting Information Service Daily Reports and Annexes from 1974-1996. For post-1996 coverage, see the database World News Connection.
Institutional Investor Journals This link opens in a new window Institutional Investor Journals are quarterly publications offering research in global investment and finance. The subscription includes: The Journal of Alternative Investments, The Journal of Derivatives, The Journal of Fixed Income, The Journal of Index Investing, The Journal of Investing, The Journal of Portfolio Management, The Journal of Private Equity, The Journal of Structured Finance, The Journal of Trading, and The Journal of Wealth Management.
ImpactAlpha This link opens in a new window ImpactAlpha, including ImpactAlpha’s daily newsletter, The Brief, is a digital media company redefining business journalism around social and environmental value. ImpactAlpha's open database, ImpactSpace, includes profiles on impact ventures, funds and deals.
Individuals must register for an individual account using their @nyu.edu email.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window Newsbank searches a collection of databases from the information vendor Newsbank, including the Archive of Americana, World News Archive, Foreign Broadcast Information Service Reports, and Access World News. These collections include: Early American Newspapers, Series XV, 1822-1879: Immigrant Communities; American Underworld: The Flash Press; African American Newspapers, Series 1, African American Newspapers, Series 2, Ethnic American Newspapers (Balch), 1799-1971; Joint Publications Research Service Reports (JPRS), 1957-1995; Sowetan Collection; Financial Mail Collection, Sunday Times Collection; Business Day Collection
New York Times, 1980-present (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Full-text coverage of the New York Times, 1980 to present.
The New York Times with Index (1851—2015) This link opens in a new window The New York Times with Index database provides access to the full text, "as printed" edition of The New York Times, including images and advertisements. Coverage begins with the first edition published in 1851 and extends to three years from the present day (due to a rolling embargo).
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni (Formerly LexisNexis Academic Universe) provides access to full-text newspapers (U.S. and some international), news wires, transcripts, and trade journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Please clear your browser's cache and cookies before attempting to access this resource.
OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window OmniFile Full Text Mega is a Multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six collections: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text. Dates of coverage: 1982 to present.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window PAIS International contains journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies for public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations.
PressReader This link opens in a new window PressReader (formerly PressDisplay) provides access to newspapers from around the world, often in the original language. Dates of coverage vary from the most current three months to the most current decade. Newspapers are presented in a browsable, "as printed" visual format.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window ProQuest Central is a large, multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window Global Newsstream contains the html full text of hundreds of U.S. and international news sources. Coverage dates vary from title to title, but generally span the most recent five to ten years.
PsycINFO via Ovid This link opens in a new window PsycINFO via Ovid indexes core academic and professional literature in the psychological and behavioral sciences and their related disciplines. Coverage is from 1806 to the present. **Note that the database PsycINFO is also searchable on APA PsycNET platform.
PsycNET (with PsycINFO) This link opens in a new window APA PsycNET is an integrated collection of databases from the American Psychological Association (APA), including the following: PsycINFO, PsycBOOKS, PsycTESTS, PsycTHERAPY, PsycARTICLES, and PsycEXTRA. PsycINFO, the most popular database in PsycNET, is a bibliographic index covering core literature in the psychological and behavioral sciences and their related disciplines. PsycBOOKS includes online versions of the APA Handbooks in Psychology Series, as well as other ebooks and online encyclopedias published by APA. PsycTESTS is a source of structured information about psychological tests and measures as well as a repository for the full text of select instruments. PsycTHERAPY provides access to streaming psychotherapy demonstration videos. Altogether, PsycNET provides information about and access to journal articles, books and ebooks, dissertations, conference presentations, tests and measures, videos, gray literature, and many other other publication types in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
To search only a specific database (e.g., PsycINFO) within the PsycNET interface, use the "Select Databases" features at the top of the PsycNET landing page and check (or uncheck) the database(s) that apply.
Risk.net This link opens in a new window Risk.net allows access the full content from Risk magazine, including all special reports and topical supplements, as well as a searchable archive of past issues of Risk and related journals.
Russian Central Newspapers This link opens in a new window Russian Central Newspapers contains the most important Russian newspapers currently being being published in Moscow. Searching can be done across newspapers.
Search in Cyrillic or in Library of Congress English transliteration.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science Core) This link opens in a new window Indexes journal literature in the social sciences. Dates of coverage: 1900 to present.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
In order to subscribe to the NYU network one must create an account with their NYU email address. Please note that when accessing through off-site connection you may encounter a login screen which indicates you can 'login anonymously.' If you reach this choose to login anonymously and you will be granted access.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Sociological Abstracts represents the core database for sociological scholarship, covering literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It indexes scholarly journals, dissertations and theses, books, and conference papers and proceedings, and is international in scope.
Sports Business Research Network This link opens in a new window Sports Business Research Network (SBRnet), formerly known as Sports Market Analytics, provides market research, industry trends, and statistics related to sports and sports business.

Wall Street Journal

WorldCat - FirstSearch (OCLC) This link opens in a new window Search for books and more in libraries in the U.S. and around the world. Indicates when NYU Libraries holds a copy of a book and shows you nearby libraries with holdings.

Working Papers

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text working papers include Federal Reserve Board Working Papers and some academic instiutions. Many records are bibliographic only and will serve as a starting point to find full text. To limit your search to working papers, select Working Papers as a document type
CEPR Discussion Papers This link opens in a new window
CEPR offers access to a wide range of discussion papers and research on topics such as artificial intelligence, cryptocurrency, machine learning, etc.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Working papers are indexed in this database. If you want to limit to Working Papers, select working papers as a document type. Then you can search by either topic or working group source.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to journal articles, users can access book chapters, ebooks, and primary source documents.
Making of the Modern World: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature 1450-1850 This link opens in a new window
The Making of the Modern World: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature 1450-1850" provides digital facsimile images on every page of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business published from 1450 through 1850. Full-text searching on more than 12 million pages provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.

National Academies Press

NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new window
The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) includes the entire run of NBER Working Papers and NBER working paper series on historical factors in long-run growth and the NBER Technical Working Papers.

RePEc
RePEc holds over 610,000 freely available items, over 500,000 of which are available online. Use their "IDEAS" platform to search across all RePEc content.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a portal for scholarship published in the sciences, engineering, and technology disciplines.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink provides access to journal articles, books, and reference works in the biomedical sciences, life sciences, and computer sciences.

Stern Faculty Working Papers
The repository for the working paper series of Stern School of Business.
SSRN: Economics Preprints
The Economics Research Network on SSRN is an open-access preprint platform for economists, expediting research dissemination and providing quick access to inventive working papers, early-stage studies, and peer-reviewed articles for the academic community.

NYU Stern Working Papers

Department of Economics
Department of Economics working papers and research.
Department of Finance
Links to working papers authored by Department of Finance faculty and posted on SSRN are available below. PDF access available for all papers from 1994- present.
Department of Information, Operations, and Management Sciences
The Information Systems working papers series hosted by CeDER. PDF access from 1980 to present.

NYU Economics Department (College of Arts & Sciences) Working Papers

C.V. Starr Center for Applied Economics
Need a scan of a C.V. Starr working paper? Email us with the RR number or title!

Research Tips: Optimizing Your Access to Journal Articles

LibKey: Convenient access to full text! LibKey Nomad Installation Instructions.
Link Google Scholar to NYU Library's full text subscriptions. (5m video with transcript also available.)
NYU Libraries proxy prefix: Have the publisher's URL for the journal article you want? Try adding our proxy prefix to instantly get access.
Find an article using a full citation: For best results, include a title, ISSN, ISBN, DOI or PMID.
Push new journal content to yourself using email alerts and RSS feeds: The ability to set up alerts and feeds varies from database to database. For ABI Inform (ProQuest) and Business Source Complete (EBSCO), finding out when a new issue of a publication is available or creating a saved search is easy.
- Publication alert directions: ABI Inform (ProQuest) and Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
- Search alert directions: ABI Inform (ProQuest) and Business Source Complete (EBSCO)

NYU Business Library

Ask a Librarian

Popular Publications

Wall Street Journal

New York Times

The Economist

Harvard Business Review

Financial Times

Bloomberg Businessweek

Barron's

Crain's New York Business

Popular Business Publications

Search for E-Journals by Journal Title

Journal and Newspaper Databases

Working Papers

NYU Stern Working Papers

NYU Economics Department (College of Arts & Sciences) Working Papers

Research Tips: Optimizing Your Access to Journal Articles